15 in 2015 for…er…March. Oops

So March happened. Apparently. For most of February it felt like it should be March to me (like you wake up on a Thursday, thinking it must be Friday, and are disappointed all day!), so when March actually came, it sort of passed me by. I didn’t feel well for much of it, and was going home straight to bed. We went on holiday, we bought a car, and I’m sure other things went on, but really, March feels like it was something that happened to other people.

And now it’s April, and I thought it was about time I caught up on my slightly neglected 15 in 2015 list. I’ve not made a lot of progress, but for a month where I could barely function some days, it’s no so bad.

banner

14 New recipes tried twice I’ve finally managed one! There’s a lovely chicken, mint and coriander curry recipe in one of my Slimming World books that we’re both very taken with, and actually worked the second time as well. Result!

12 books finished March was more the month of the podcast for me, and having started “A Night at the Majestic”, I abandoned it last week, mostly for not being what I thought it was! I’m taking a break from audiobooks to catch up on podcasts, but have started the ebook of Nation, one of the few Terry Pratchetts I haven’t read (and I love how many of these I can borrow from my local library!)

10 Letters and birthday cards sent Do postcards count? I’m going to say they do, but that the 6 I sent from Mallorca only count as one entry for this, as it seems like cheating otherwise. But we also managed to accidentally get a birthday card to Lincolnshire by a roundabout route (long story!), so that’s good progress.

8 patterns written Although I haven’t finished the writing of them yet, this is one area where I actually felt I made real progress in March. I’ve lined up all my past patterns, ready for turning into PDFs, and I’ve got 2 designs out of the concept stage and ready for testing and writing up. It’s not much, but it feels like progress.

7 Knitting projects I finished my Vintage Fremont, although I haven’t blogged about it properly yet. I haven’t cast on a new one, as I want to concentrate on crochet in April.

What I haven’t done much of in March is sewing. I had a patchwork project go quite badly wrong and banished it to the naughty corner (under the sofa), and I think it’s put me on a bit of a downer when it comes to my sewing mojo. Sewing also needs more energy, as I can’t lie in bed and do it, the way I can yarn projects. Or at least, not with most of the ones I’ve got on the go at the moment. I want to try to find time to put the fabrics together for a paper piecing project, so that I can work on that anywhere, and as the weather warms up, I think I’ll be more drawn to cool cottons than warm wool.

half a shawl in green yarnFirst draft of my Countess Ablaze shawl. Nearly there…

So for April, I think I’m going to concentrate on knocking out patterns and projects. Sol and I will be working on our Freyjas, I’m going to be Happing along with the Knit British group, and I’m most of the way through a design for the Countess Ablaze Odyssey Trail KAL. Together with Mum’s cardigan (which I WILL finish this month, no matter what!), it’s enough to be going on with, I think. I’m definitely in a Spring Cleaning kind of mood, and as I tend to be solar-powered, I’m hoping to get a lot done while it’s sunny, before the April showers start!

How’s everyone else doing with their 2015 goals and plans? I know at the end of the first quarter of the year, lots of us stop to take stock. Hope your 2015 is going well so far.

4 thoughts on “15 in 2015 for…er…March. Oops

Leave a Reply

