Not so much finished as done in

This should have been a post about my new shawl, which I’m wearing as I type. Except my normal photographer (read: friend who doesn’t mind taking photos) is on holiday, I think I need to block it harder, and my heart isn’t really in it. I’m afraid I only have a quick snapshot, and the report that now I’ve got the hang of wearing it, I really like it.

 



This is more of a place-holder, really, until I can get some good photos and get excited about my shawl. I’m finding it hard to be excited right now, if I’m honest. Yesterday, the news broke that Terry Pratchett died on Wednesday, and while it seems strange to be so upset about the death of someone I didn’t know, I think authors can be different. When you read, you live in the world they create and grow to love the characters they write about. Pratchett’s books are favourites for both me and my husband, and we can hold entire conversations just using quotes from them (and often do). My responses to feeling like this are very predictable, and I’ve managed two of the three so far. I need to talk, I need to write, and I need to make. The first is easy, the second was harder, but I now have something on paper that I’m happier with, and for the third, I have an idea. More on that soon, I hope.

Rather than dwell, let me point you to some of the lovely things I’ve seen this week that have made me smile.

Sol over at A Crochet Journey has made one of the most stunning crochet bags I’ve seen in a long time. Definitely watch that space for the pattern. There’s also some details there of a CAL we’ll be doing together, and which you’re welcome to join us in. More from me on that next week.

The Shawl Project from Joanna Scrace has me incredibly over-excited. For me, she and Kat Goldin are some of the best designers working in crochet at the moment, and I am terribly jealous of everyone getting to see them at the Edinburgh Yarn Festival. Please tell them that I can’t wait to buy it!

Speaking of the EYF, this shawl is making me wish my knitting was better. I love Karie Westermann’s work. One day!

And if you’re not following The New York Public Library on Instagram, I heartily recommend it, for books, history and quite a lot of silliness, which I’m very grateful for at the moment.

Have a great weekend, everyone.

2 thoughts on “Not so much finished as done in

  1. My Facebook feed was full of tributes to Mr. Pratchett. I’ve only read a couple of his books myself, and one of them was the collaboration with Neil Gaiman (Good Omens). Your shawl is lovely, btw. Mesh and garter stitch make a nice combination.

    Like

Leave a Reply

