Yarn Along: Same old, same old

Although I’ve got a lot going on at this end, I’m afraid I’ve only got more of the same when it comes to projects and books.

wpid-20150311_125046.jpg

That’s my mother’s cardigan, again. And that’s Bleak House. Again. To be fair, both are large-scale undertakings – I’ve only ever made 1 garment before, and that took me a very long time indeed. Come to think of it, I’ve only ever read one Dickens book before, so it’s not surprising both are still ongoing.

It’s definitely hard to keep the momentum going when it comes to these big projects. I’ll admit that I had to take a break from Bleak House for a while, jazzing things up with some podcasts when I realised I was only about 1/4 of the way through but had already been listening for many hours! The same with the cardigan, where I’ve taken breaks to work on smaller things that keep me sane while this project goes on (and on). Fortunately my mother feels the cold, so I’m not too worried about finishing it after winter.

I’ve also learned a lot (mostly to COUNT) from making it, so it’s been a good experience. And I’ve learned a lot from Dickens, mostly about why people love his writing so much. I’m not sure I do, although I feel I can at least appreciate him, even if I find his writing easier to deal with in small doses. But by breaking both projects up, I’m managing to keep going with them, rather than leaving them abandoned like I so often used to do. The “same old, same old” is much better if there’s also something “different new” in there as well!

To see what other people have been making this week, head over to Ginny’s by clicking the picture below.

6 thoughts on “Yarn Along: Same old, same old

  1. I find the large projects do get overwhelming. I try to keep a pair of socks or a hat on the side in case I need some immediate gratification! And books? Those take me even longer!

    Like

  2. Looks like you do have two big projects with Dickens and your sweater. I find Dickens quite fascinating. I watched a great movie about him not too long ago. And I do love his books although they take forever to finish.

    Like

  3. It’s definitely appropriate that you’re reading Dickens for a long project! ;p I’ve done nothing BUT large projects since the early fall, and I’m excited to finish this cardigan and make like.. a sock, or something. πŸ™‚ Or a tea cozy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

