Freshly Finished Friday: Blue Skies Hat

Despite ice on the cars and the chill in the air, there’s a definite change in the weather here in Oxford. The college gardens are just starting to show signs of life, and earlier this week, a crocus patch burst into life under one of our trees.

image

Despite this, I’ve been determined to take advantage of the last of the cold weather and finish a hat. Again. 



Let me explain. I first made this hat, the Gnarled Bark pattern by Joanna Scrace, in early February. It’s a satisfying pattern, not too trivial, but not requiring too much thought once you get going. I love cables, and had been wanting an interesting hat pattern for a while. My swatch came out bang on gauge for my head size (medium), and in no time, I had a hat. It fitted really well, just as it should have, except there wasn’t enough body for me. I’d wanted something substantial and slouchy, but having chosen a finely spun yarn, my finished hat just didn’t have enough volume for me.

After a few weeks of indecision, I ripped it out and started a new one in a bigger yarn, on a bigger hook and in the biggest size. To my relief, the pattern was just as much of a joy to make the second time around as it had been the first, and this time, I achieved the volume I’d been looking for. A little too much, perhaps, although that might have been my over-enthusiastic blocking. 



Yes that’s a hat on a plate wrapped in a towel balanced on an indoor fire. What?

I think I’m going to have to remake the band, probably just going down a hook size than anything more drastic. There’s nothing wrong with the size, except that I made the one that’s too big for my head! The yarn is Malabrigo Arroyo, and I used almost the entire skein. It’s a lovely, springy yarn and held the cables beuatifully. I was a bit worried they might disappear under blocking, but the overall effect is just what I was going for. Something substantial and warm, but loose enough that my head doesn’t overheat and it doesn’t get impaled on my hairclips too much!

wpid-20150306_143200.jpg
Look at those lovely cables! It’s just what I wanted from a spring hat, and I’ve worn it pretty much every day since I finished. It’s a lovely, squishy, warm and comfortable hat.

To see what other people have finished this week, head over to A Hard Knit Life for Freshly Finished Friday!

fff-button2

7 thoughts on “Freshly Finished Friday: Blue Skies Hat

Leave a Reply

