Yarn Along: One stitch at a time

Several days

Ironically, after my outbreak of whimsy and celebration of lists yesterday, I’ve spent a lot of time over the last few days staring at mine, feeling a little lost. With a husband in the depths of exams, it’s hard to concentrate on anything but that, and all my plans and ideas feel sort of distant at the moment.

wpid-20150114_125206.jpg

It’s at times like this that I’m grateful for my crochet projects. I can take them one stitch at a time, I can work on one thing, then another, then another and feel I’m making progress, and I can look back at the end of the day and see how many rows I’ve added. It definitely does me good. I’ve added quite a few rows to Mum’s cardigan, as well as making a few blanket squares and starting the decreases on my shawl (above, looking very colourful in the winter sunshine!).

Also doing me good are my audiobooks, which give my brain something to distract it when the stress comes creeping in at the edges. I’m listening to She Landed by Moonlight, which I borrowed because I thought it was an account of an SOE agent in France. In fact, it’s much bigger than that, covering the whole context of the war in France and in Whitehall, as well as her life story. The shifts have been causing me some problems, as the writer moves back and forth between the agent’s life story (remarkable in itself) and the history of WWII, and between the past and present tenses. The former is confusing until you get used to it, the latter is getting irritating. I’m going to hear it out – I want to know what happened at the end- but it’s not as satisfying a read as it could be, and I don’t really feel I know the character any better at the three-quarter point than I did at the beginning.

To see if other people’s reads have been more satisfying this week, head over to Ginny’s.

8 thoughts on “Yarn Along: One stitch at a time

  1. I’m a big fan of audiobooks, especially when knitting. I recently listened to Code Name Verity which is a story about a female SOE agent in WWII. I really enjoyed it and would definitely recommend it. I thought the ending in particular was very well done.

    Like

    1. Ooh, that sounds great, thanks. I think I want to put a proper review of this one up when I’m finished. It’s not a *bad* book, but there are definitely oddities about it that make it hard going.

      Like

  2. I love the bright happy colors of your shawl. I never thought I would be a “shawl person”…but I am. I read you 15 in 15…my list definitely includes more books. I was so slack last year that I only read 4. Must do better this year. Hope you have a lovely week.

    Like

    1. Thanks πŸ™‚ This shawl is such a joy to make, it really is. I’ve become slightly addicted to shawl making, I have to say!

      I’m concentrating on audiobooks to get my reading done, and am loving it so far. I’d forgotten how much I love a good story πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. my only audiobooks I have are Harry Potter series – and I’ve been listening to them over and over – especially when knitting or crocheting πŸ™‚
    I love the colors of your yarn, so bright and lovely πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Ooh, I’ve actually got some of the Harry Potters but haven’t listened for ages. I shall have to line them up for a break in my more ‘serious’ listening πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

