Trying not to think about an orange penguin

Well, that was not the weekend I had planned! After discovering we have unwanted guests staying in our garage, we’re having to take remedial action, including plastic boxes, throwing away nibbled yarn (*sniff*) and traps. Not Good.

As a result, I find myself wanting to think about almost anything else, but of course, that’s like being told not to think about an orange penguin. No matter how much you try, when it’s something specific that’s on your mind, you find yourself coming back to it over and over.

Not to say the distraction efforts haven’t been fun. I’ve been loving pictures of Yarndale that were all over Twitter and my Feedly this weekend. I’ve been to the big stitching show at Ally Pally a couple of times, the Festival of Quilts at the NEC and Fibre East, and I don’t think I’m actually that cut out for the big shows. While I’ve come away with lovely lovely things, I’ve also felt rather under pressure to buy them, not by the sellers, but from the general atmosphere – I’m a terrible one for impulse buying, and shows are just too enabling. I’m also bad at crowds, so I shall carry on enjoying Yarndale vicariously and hope people keep posting pretty pictures.

My other solution has come from some recent retail therapy. On a recommendation, I bought us a couple of vegetarian recipe books. This one:

world food cafe

The World Food cafe

and this one

low fat low sugar

Low fat, low sugar

I’m sure the second one will be useful, but I have to say it’s the first that’s really got me going. It seems absolutely stuffed with lovely things to eat, as well as great descriptions and stories. I was so inspired, and so keen to try them, I’ve decided that October is going to be a vegetarian month, to let us eat our way through the cookbooks properly. Although I enjoy veggie food, my repertoire is rather limited, so hopefully limiting myself to it for a month will make me a bit more inspired. We would have started earlier, but I got a bit overwhelmed by the book when trying to menu plan on Saturday, and decided I needed more time to look through it first, not to mention asking for recommendations.

The menu for this week looks something like this:

Monday – Bolognese (leftovers)
Tuesday – Bacon and eggs (simple, as we’ll be in late)
Wednesday – Quorn Dopiaza
Thursday – Quorn Dopiaza (see Tuesday comment :))
Friday – Red Bean mousssaka (from Low fat, low sugar)

Then from Saturday, the veggie adventure proper will begin. Considering that that’s when I’ll have to start phase 2 of the garage clear-up, I’m going to need something to look forward to, and hopefully planning during the week will help keep orange penguins (and other things) out of my head. I’ll let you know how that goes!

2 thoughts on “Trying not to think about an orange penguin

  1. *claps happily* Looking forward to seeing how you get on, especially with the World Food one. It’s particularly great on dark, dreary days when you need a pick-me-up – cooking up a pot of something colourful that smells amazing is very uplifting 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

