FO Friday: Labour of Love. Possibly.

It’s been quite a while since I’ve had anything to show on a Friday. The last few months have felt like very hard work, and I haven’t been much inclined towards making things. Picking anything up to crochet or sew has just been that little bit too difficult, but picking this one up has been even harder.

20140822_125634

This is my third Tunisian Lace project, and as ever, I love the look, just as I love my Phoenix hat and shawl. But I have to be honest and say that I didn’t love making this one. My original idea had been that if I made something modular rather than all in one piece, it would be easier. I’d have lots of finishes, I wouldn’t have to carry everything around with me all the time, and it would be much more satisfying.

Needless to say, things don’t always work out the way you plan them. The stitch pattern on the solas is very plain, which creates a beautiful finished effect, but was a bit dull to make. Rather than having a series of finishes, it felt more like every time I finished something, there was another one to do, and making the whole thing seemed endless. Joining was tricky (it’s never been something I’ve been very good at), and I realised in the middle of wedge six that I wasn’t going to have enough yarn to make all nine pieces that I was supposed to have.

So that’s the down side.

The upside is that now I’ve finished, I really, really love this shawl.

20140822_125624

The yarn is from Natalie at The Yarn Yard and is Moondance, a sparkle 4-ply. Natalie doesn’t have any at the moment, but I think it’s the same base that other indie dyers use. I love the two colours together, and while it looked a bit sad when I finished, blocking has really brought out the shape.

20140822_125401

I edged it in double-crochet, in contrast colours to the wedges (so. many. ends. the weaving in seemed to take as long as the crochet!) and put a row along the top as well to help it hold its shape.

20140822_125639

While the process didn’t work for me (and I’m very much a process person when it comes to crochet), if you’ve never done any Tunisian Lace before, this would be a great place to start. The increases are nice and easy, and as it only uses one stitch, you’ve got plenty of time to practice, and wouldn’t need to concentrate too hard. I would recommend counting stitches every couple of rows – I missed some of the increases and had to do a bit of ripping back, which probably also didn’t help me love making it!

Front close up

Overall, I’m glad I made it. It taught me a lot, as well as giving me a lovely shawl at the end.

4 thoughts on “FO Friday: Labour of Love. Possibly.

  1. Great shawl, Laura!! It has turned out beautifully and looks well worth the effort.

    I have to say that the thought of making anything that large in Tunisian Lace doesn’t appeal to me – I find it quite hard on my hands and the fabric is so heavy!

    Like

  2. I was just looking at the instructions for Tunisian crochet this morning and I have to say it looks like an awful slog! But your shawl is beautiful so maybe it’s worth it!

    Like

    1. Aoibhe Ni’s Tunisian Lace technique is very different to ‘normal’ Tunisian. Much easier on the hands, and makes really lovely fabric. I have 3 shawls in it now (2 that I made) and I’m about to start a third. If you fancy a change, I’d say it’s worth checking out!

      Thanks 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

