(Someone Else’s) WIP Wednesday

The last few weeks have gone by in a blur of tiredness and travel. I’ve been to Lisbon, Lincolnshire and London (locations not chosen for alliterative purposes, I promise). I’ve seen family and friends, eaten in all kinds of places, travelled by plane, train and automobile, and somehow found time to do the washing.

Oh, and I went to work from time to time!

The Bank Holiday weekend that we’ve just had was a chance to stop, breathe and take stock of where I am with things. More importantly, I’ve had a good think about where I want to be, the fruits of which labour will be on show here next week some time, I hope. I’ve got a few thoughts bubbling away, and some projects I’m working on and, of course, a long list with deadlines.

And as if that wasn’t enough, this week I’ve also got someone else’s project to work on as well. My friend L has just had her second baby, which she seems to think is an excuse for fobbing her work off on other people. Slacker ;D

So while she’s dealing with feeding, changing and complete lack of sleep, I’ve inherited her quilt to finish off. She got so close!

P1040054

It’s a funny thing, taking on someone else’s work. I want to make sure I do a good job for her, and I want to make sure that she ends up with the quilt she wanted, not the quilt I would make. Now, in practice, L and I are old enough and good enough friends that we’d probably do these things in the same way anyway. But there’s definitely a frisson of extra pressure on a project that’s not yours, and that you’re not keeping.

P1040053

In truth there isn’t much to do. A little bit of quilting, then self-binding, although because of the way it’s constructed, that’s not entirely trivial. Still, I’m looking forward to the challenge, as well as being immensely flattered to be trusted with it – L makes lovely things herself, so to be given a project and asked to finish it for her is quite the compliment. Now I just have to hope my machine’s tension issues when I last used it were a temporary glitch…

To see if other people are working on projects that actually belong to them, head over to Tami’s Amis or click the picture below.

tami_wip

One thought on “(Someone Else’s) WIP Wednesday

Leave a Reply

