NaBloPoMo 2013

Sometimes, you need a bit of a nudge to make you get on with things. I’m definitely a person who needs deadlines. If I decide to do something for myself, chances are that I’ll make a feeble stab at starting, then get lost halfway through and it’ll sit forever in the garage as a WIP. Ask me to make something for a birthday or particular event, and I’ll probably still make a feeble stab at starting then get lost halfway through, but three days before the deadline, I’ll scoop it up and and finish it all in a rush. It’s why I’ve always been better at exams than coursework, and why I’m good at thinking on my feet but am a terrible brooder when given time to ponder.

All of which is a roundabout way of saying that with November here, I’ve decided to give NaBloPoMo another go. I got as far as the 17th last year, so this year, the idea is to get to the 25th at least.

Looking back, it’s been a funny old year, with huge ups and downs. It started well, took a nasty plunge in the middle, started to pick up again, and has begun the inevitable nose-dive into winter that I always get. But this year I am armed with both my lightbox and a window for a my office. A window!

20131010_091331

The idea of NaBloPoMo is that you write each post on the day, but I’ve cheated a little and planned out what I’m going to say, as well as taking some pictures in advance. With the days getting shorter, I can’t guarantee enough sunshine otherwise!

Confusingly, the big NaBloPoMo month seems to have been October, so I’m running a bit late as usual and won’t be able to sign up to anything central (unless anyone can point me at a sign-up list?) Instead, I’m just going to potter along over here, catching up on the things I’ve been making, doing and thinking about and hoping to get back in the blogging habit.

And because no blog post is complete without a picture and a link, I heartily recommend to you this Tumblr about what it’s really like to be an archivist. Which I’m not but most of these apply to librarians as well.

Leave a Reply

