NaBloPoMo Day 16 – FO Friday

Phew, end of the week, and I might only have worked 3 days, but it feels like it’s been a whole lot longer. But I am chuffed that I have something to show you today:

I only had a chance to grab some snaps before parcelling this up as a gift, so apologies for the garage-setting of the photos! It’s still better than the light in our flat on these grey November days.

As is so often the case, this project has a bit of a saga behind it. The pattern was in the (now defunct) magazine Sew Hip, and I really loved the idea. It was described as a child’s craft tote, and I really liked that it had practical handles, that it had big pockets and a zip around the outside.

You’ll notice that while my tote has 2 of these features, it does not have a zip. Instead, I put poppers around the edge and a button on the front. The button doesn’t do anything, but I thought it gave it a more finished look.

As was so often the case in Sew Hip, while the finished pictures looked good, the instructions on how to get there were somewhat difficult to follow. I cut the pieces for this at least 9 months ago, but I found the construction so complicated, and at the time I wasn’t so confident at just trusting my instincts and going for it. A few quilts and bags later, I decided that I’d just wing it and hope for the best, and besides, the child I’d intended it for would be just the right age, as long as I finished it this week.

So on Tuesday, I got out the pieces, threw away the instructions and followed my nose rather than the pictures. I think it turned out okay! I had to sew the gusset slightly weirdly because if I’d made it the way instructed, it would have been so thin as to be largely pointless. So I made it wider, zigzagged down the middle and am calling it a design feature.

The fabric is a Kokka print bought from M is for Make, and I have enough leftovers to make a little project bag for myself as well.

This craft tote is now winging its way around the world to its new home, and I’m looking forward to seeing pictures with its new owner (hint, hint, C ;D). To see if anyone else has well-travelled projects this week, head over to Tami’s Amis here or by clicking the picture below.

Leave a Reply

