NaBloPoMo Day 15 – We interrupt your regular blog posts…

Just a quick post today, as it’s been a crazy couple of days at work as well as long ones, and my brain is starting to fizz under the pressure.

One of the pressures it’s had to deal with was a minor first aid incident that nonetheless resulted in my sending someone off to hospital. They’ll be fine – like I say, it was minor – but it reminded me that my first aid training is due for refreshing soon, which is something I’m actually looking forward to. When you deal with things as rarely as I do, it’s easy to forget what you’ve learned. It comes back, but still, there’s a moment of ‘I hope I remember how’.

So this is just a quick PSA to say that there’s lots of first aid resources out there, and I really, really recommend learning a bit more. Personally, I think the best place to start is St John’s Ambulance, whose site is here, although I’m biased because I went to their junior club, the Badgers as a child. I even got my Super Badger, which I am very proud of!


They’ve upgraded these since I got mine – mine isn’t holding a shield!

I think since I grew up learning first aid – and considering I am epically squeamish, that’s no mean feat – I take it for granted that people know roughly what to do in an accident, but with 140,00 people die each year from situations where basic first aid could have saved their lives. St Johns offer a free leaflet, and there’s all the information you could need, right here on the internet.

Why not take 5 minutes and learn the basics? You never know the difference you could make.

2 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo Day 15 – We interrupt your regular blog posts…

  1. I trained as a first aider once upon a time … and was the designated first aider for the small company I worked for in Cheshire. Ironically I was the only person who ever needed any first aid … had to send myself to hospital after a severe allergic reaction to an unknown chemical!

    Like

Leave a Reply

