NaBloPoMo Day 7 – WIP Wednesday – Experimentation

Gosh, Wednesday already? I feel like I’m slowly tottering in the direction of normality again, with joining back in with WIP Wednesday being a good landmark along the way.

This is my current travelling project, the one that goes around with me on the bus and to work for lunch hours and breaks. It’s hopefully going to turn into De Danann by Aoibhe Ni, who designs incredible lace shawls.

The technique is generally called Tunisian Lace, but I know some crocheters thing that’s a bit of a misnomer. It uses a combination of Tunisian stitches, normal crochet stitches and something akin to knitting and creates a smooth, solid fabric that you can use for a very different type of lace to normal crochet.

I was trying to think how to describe it, but I think it’s the difference between knitted lace and crochet lace. In very general terms, crochet lace often tends to be small motifs joined together, while knitted lace often seems to be making lovely holes in a solid fabric, if that makes sense? Tunisian lace is closer to knitting in finished appearance, but definitely uses crochet techniques. Apart from the yarn overs. They’re knitting.

Hmm. It’s a bit hard to explain! I’m not sure if anyone other than Aoibhe Ni actually uses this as a technique, so it’s possibly irrelevant. I’m liking the technique alot, as it’s giving me a light, unusual lace fabric that I can use my crochet hook to create. What I’m not sure about is my gauge – there are supposed to be holes in that fabric created by yarn overs, but they’ve closed up completely. I need to work out if that’s something I can solve by blocking, or if I need to go up a hook size. I’m leaning towards the latter, in all honesty, partly for the look and partly because it’s growing so slowly! I’m not used to having to be so patient with a crochet hook in my hand!

To see if anyone else is being impatient about their projects this week, head over to Tami’s Amis here or by clicking the picture below.

3 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo Day 7 – WIP Wednesday – Experimentation

  1. Glad you’re feeling better!

    I tried Tunisian last year and ended up with such a firm fabric, you definitely couldn’t call it lace! Guess my tension was a bit off – I need to try again sometime.

    Like

Leave a Reply

