NaBloPoMo – Day 5 – …and sometimes the bear gets you

Just to be clear, the bear I have in mind is not so much this one:

As this one:

Just so we’re clear.

I’m determined to keep up my ‘one blog a day’ pattern through November, but I have to be honest and say that it’s hard today.

Yesterday, we had a Major Electrical Incident, which meant we had to leave the lighting circuit off from about 4pm, I didn’t get out to an appointment I was due to go to at 5.45, we had to go to bed stressed and exhausted, and my father-in-law (bless him) drove over early this morning to sort us out. Fortunately, the visual effects of the MEI were more dramatic than the results, and all is returned to normal. Well, normal for us, which means bags of tile cement in the study and timber under the sofa, but still. Normal-ish.

But added to a disjointed day at work and losing a beloved crochet bag, complete with project and hooks (2 of my precious Etimos, and a project that I ADORED), I have to say that I’m feeling pretty gloomy this evening. Everything is replaceable apart from the hours, but that’s not really the point. I’ve rung local shops and put Tweets into the ether, but I’m not really expecting to get anything back. I hope whoever gets my thumbless glove makes good use of it.

It’s definitely a day where I feel weighed down by just about everything, and while I know I’ll be okay, right now, I’m mostly fed up. So I’ve done what I always do when I’m fed up, I take a few deep breaths, let my Bible app choose some verses for me (it chose Colossians 1 this morning, which was an excellent choice) then make a list of things to do so that I can cross them off. THEN I come and blog about it, of course! And since I like my blog posts to be illustrated, I went in search of a suitable picture

And then something lovely happened. I stumbled across this blog that I think lots of you will love, and I have happily put its badge in my sidebar. If you like lists too, as well as pretty stationery and anything that calls itself an ‘organisational tool’, you’re going to love it.

(Mum, click the link, you’ll LOVE it ;D)

In fact, inspired by the site, I’m going to make a list of the things I need to organise – not the things I need to *do* since most of those have a deadline on them, but the things that are bugging me and need putting back in their right places. Even if their right place is a charity shop or the bin. Maybe especially then.

So this blog may be slightly hijacked by my inner Penelope over the next week, but if it helps offset the mess in my head at the moment, I think that will be okay with everybody. Especially me!

2 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo – Day 5 – …and sometimes the bear gets you

  1. I’m so sorry you’ve had such a hideous few days.
    I really hope your bag turns up safe and sound. (The one thing I did buy for myself at Ally Pally was an Etimo hook with a golden head. I love it A LOT, not least of all because gold hooks are easier on my stupid eyeballs than silver ones.)

    *goes to investigate link*

    Like

Leave a Reply

