NaBloPoMo – Day 2 – FO Friday

It’s been quite a while since I had something to show on a Friday, isn’t it? Everybody ready?

Ta-da! The pattern is from the Interweave Crochet book book, and is the Boteh scarf by Kathy Merrick. It was chosen specifically to show off the yarn as much as possible.

The yarn is 100% merino sock by the ever-fabulous Natalie at The Yarn Yard, in a colourway called Chick Flick. As soon as I held it, I knew I was going to have to hunt for exactly the right pattern to show it off. It’s hard to see in these pictures, but the yarn is very, very subtly variegated, and without at least some solid stitching, you’d never be able to see it. On the other hand, solid stiching and good drape don’t always go together, and I don’t like stiff scarves.

Boteh has been the perfect compromise, with patches of solid stitching (although not too stiff, as I went up a hook size from the recommended) and nice drapey lace. I was a bit worried that it would be too thin, but it’s so long that by the time I wrap it around my neck three or four times, it’s just fine.

I absolutely love crochet patterns like this, where you read it, can’t entirely see how it’s going to work, then start stitching and think ‘ooh, clever’. Pretty is good, but clever is even better! I also have to say that the yarn is fabulous. It was nice to work with, and after blocking, it’s smoothed and softened, and is just lovely to snuggle up in. Can’t recommend the pair of them enough!

To see if others are equally enthusiastic about their week’s work, head over to Tami’s Amis here or by clicking the button below.

3 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo – Day 2 – FO Friday

Leave a Reply

