WIP Wednesday: In the Pink

It took me 3 attempts just to write the subject line of this post, mostly because to me, it feels like Tuesday. Which is better than being a day ahead of myself, because this way at least I’ll be pleasantly surprised when the weekend arrives. But I’m finding it hard to believe that it’s been a week since my last post.

On the other hand, despite still being a little under the weather and having a crazy-busy weekend, I’ve managed to make real progress on my shawl design, and should be able to report on it in a couple of weeks. The writing up takes as long as the designing when you work the way I do, which is to stitch-stitch-stitch, then try to reverse engineer what I did. Even so, my main problem isn’t working out what I did, it’s over-think things, and worrying that people won’t understand what I’ve written. I’m one of those people who misunderstands things really easily, so I try to write patterns that can only be read one way. However, I’m finding that I need to exercise a certain amount of trust in my readers, that if they’ve picked up the pattern, they understand how to crochet and will understand what I’ve written.

The biggest problem I’m having is over the number of stitches in each stitch of the row below. Some of my rows use a mixture of ‘1 stitch in each stitch’ and ‘2 stitches in each stitch’. Trying to find an elegant way of writing this is sending me out to investigate all my favourite patterns on Ravelry and really think about how they do it. Nothing is ever as simple as you think, is it?? I think one key is going to be giving a stitch count at the end of each row, so that people can at least roughly keep track. That and advising using stitch markers! On the other hand, I think the amount of thought you give these things really shows through in the final pattern, so it’s worth the effort.

Alongside my own work, I’ve been making a Boteh scarf as part of a challenge for one of my Ravelry groups.

The yarn is The Yarn Yard’s 100% Merino in ‘chick flick’, and I absolutely love it. It’s light, but I know it’s going to be warm, and the drape is lovely. I’d pretty much memorised the pattern after the second repeat, and it’s a great travelling project.

One of the things that I really love when crocheting is a really good structure – pretty stitch patterns are great, but I really enjoy making something that feels clever and so makes you feel clever while you’re making it. This is definitely one of those patterns. I’ve got it in a book – The Best of Interweave Crochet – but you can buy it as a single pattern on Ravelry, and I definitely recommend it if you’re a reasonably new crocheter looking for something different to make. It’s also nice to have a crochet pattern that you can use to show off an unusual yarn.

I can’t really capture the full subtlety of the yarn with my phone camera, but take my word for it, it’s gorgeous. So often blocks of solid crochet can be heavy, while lacy patterns don’t let you see the variegations in the yarn – I love how this does both, and can’t wait to get it blocked and worn!

To see what other people have been enjoying this week, head over to Tami’s Amis here or click the picture below.

2 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday: In the Pink

  1. The Boteh is lovely – the pattern kind of looks like waves.
    Your own shawl looks great (and I’m a big fan of stitch counts :D)

    Like

Leave a Reply

