WIP Wednesday: The first day of the rest of your life

First off, thanks to everyone who humoured, encouraged and generally gaped at my Year of Projects List. For what will become obvious reasons, I haven’t managed to reply to comments yet, but that should happen today. I’m going back to email replies, since I like to feel I’m really talking to people, not just sending comments out into the ether 🙂 Hope no one minds!

The reason for the delay is that since May, I’ve been working on a huge project/event for work. It’s amazing how a simple idea can explode into a time- and brain-eating monster that sucks all your energy as well as your hours – I was at work 8.30-8.30 yesterday. Not that it wasn’t worth it! The event went brilliantly, everyone seemed to enjoy themselves, and considering we had 40 people in the library eating, drinking and generally having fun, everything seems to be more or less in once piece this morning.

All of which means I finally get my life back! Events really are all-consuming, and while it’s been a great experience, I think I’m going to enjoy having a little more head-space over the summer.

And I’m going to need it. First up on my Year of Projects list is a quilt project that’s been ongoing for an embarrassing length of time.

I know, I know, that doesn’t look much like a quilt, but you’ll just have to trust me. One of the hold-ups on this project has been all the maths involved. I’ve used more since I started quilting than I think I used at GCSE! My current favourite app is Robert Kaufmann’s Quiltingcalc, which is a total life-saver for anyone trying to work out how many pieces they can get from a FQ, or how much yardage is needed for 34 4″ squares. Can’t recommend it enough, and not only because it’s free!

You know, I really need to start work on some projects that I can show you, don’t I? This is for a swap I’m doing through The Yarn Yard group on Ravelry. It’s a Strictly Secret Swap, so no details, just that I’m in love with both yarn and pattern, which is good news for my swap partner even as it’s frustrating news for me.

Oh, I guess I am working on one thing I can show you. After the hassle, stress and generally overwhelming nature of the last few weeks, I’ve been spending some time wandering the web, looking at pretty things. That’s how I stumbled across Katy’s pattern on the Art Gallery Fabrics blog. Once I’d finished laughing and climbed back onto my chair, I wondered if I had a suitable set of fabrics to make it.

And the answer is yes. Except being me, I’m using 5 half-yard cuts instead of 10 fat quarters, my fabrics are the rather more muted Curious Nature collection from Parson Gray, and I’ve got my own twist on the moustache theme. I’m waiting for some final supplies to arrive, but I have a crazy idea that I might have a mostly-finished quilt top by the weekend. Crazy, but it might just happen.

To see if anyone else is equally over-ambitious and/or secretive this week, head over to Tami’s blog here or click on the picture below.

2 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday: The first day of the rest of your life

  1. Ohh wow I definitely need to get back to quilting. I forgot how much I really enjoyed it. I can’t wait to see the finished quilt and projects.

    Like

Leave a Reply

