My Creative Space: Starting and Finishing

I was all set to go with WIP Wednesday yesterday, but then my husband had to work late, so I ended up taking his dinner to him at work. At 9.15pm. Which sort of threw my whole schedule out!

Fortunately, I can use the pictures still, and maybe my mood is more appropriate to a creative space anyway at the moment. As happens every so often, I’ve overwhelmed myself with projects, and instead of being able to get lots done, I’m finding that I’m actually stuck with too much choice. It’s not just about making things, it’s about getting some of my ideas down on paper, and some designs out of my head and into fabric or yarn.

I started the year with a fairly clear plan of what I wanted to work on, which has inevitably drifted as other things have come up. But even now, going back to it, I remember how nice it was to have a focus and know what I wanted to do next. So help me get back on track, as of Sunday, I’m going to start the Year of Projects. What I really like about this challenge is that it’s self-directed, so I can shift around projects, move between them and generally potter about the way I like to work. At the same time, when I get the urge (as I did this week) to just *make something*, I’ll have a nice clear list to go to and choose from.

What I’ve decided to do in the first instance is list things in 4 batches: a)Works in Progress, b)Projects I’ve bought supplies especially for, c)Designs, and d)Wishlist. I’m going to limit my wishlist to 10 items in the first instance, with full licence to change them as I go.

Rootling through both my WIP bags and my lists from earlier in the year has reminded me of just how much I both have on the go and really, really want to make. Hopefully by having some focus to my lists, I’ll know what to pick up as I walk out of the door in the morning, or when I have a rare free evening.

I packed my rucksack and my carry-all with projects yesterday, only to realise while photographing them that I’d only brought about half the projects with me. Eep! And yes, every picture in this post is something I’ve started but not finished. I’m hoping that naming and shaming might help me to get a move on!

Maybe I should be joining Team Hopelessly Overcommitted for the Ravelympics this year after all… What I really remember is how satisfying it was in March to be able to post a FO every week, and given how much/little there is to do on so many of these projects, it would be nice to keep that feeling rolling on to the end of the year. It would also be nice, when we finally do get the study sorted out, to not have quite so much stuff to attempt to cram into it!

It’ll also be good to see some of my ideas come to fruition at last. I’ve got 2 almost ready to go, and the thrill of it is just so good. Over the summer, I hope to organise myself to make patterns available here or through Ravelry rather than just in shops. There’s a lot to do before I get there, but it’s going to be fun. I hope!

More on Sunday when I’ll put my Year of Projects page up and hopefully get myself ready to go. Anyone else joining in with Year 2?

8 thoughts on “My Creative Space: Starting and Finishing

  1. You certainly have a lot on the go! Good luck with that list … my list is as simple as birthday dates and a wish list in my head of things I want to make for me! It’s not very organised, but it mostly works … the only trouble is life keeps getting in the way.

    Like

    1. I’ve tried just keeping things in my head, but since my brain has the retaining qualities of a sieve, that doesn’t work very well ๐Ÿ˜‰ but you’re far better than me at not just starting everything that occurs to you at the time, I think! Writing it down is definitely good for me, as it lets me see the scale of the problem.

      And as we all know, the first step is admitting that you have a problem ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

  2. I completely know where you’re coming from. There is always so much I want to do! I have also bought bits for projects I’ve never started. If only we could be crafty all day long!

    Like

  3. Wow, these are quite a number of projects. I think it’s a good thing that you started to list them – I’m still in denial mode, but can’t really avoid noticing much longer the WiP and to mend mountains in my room…

    Like

    1. Coming out denial feels like a big step, but worth doing! Go on, you can do it ๐Ÿ™‚ Besides which, the satisfaction of finishing things is just WONDERFUL!

      Like

    1. I hadn’t thought of using Autofocus for this, but in many ways, it’s the ideal system for crafting. It doesn’t work for me at work, because my job is largely responding to what happens on an hourly basis, and you just can’t plan for that. Or it’s jobs that have a set deadline, so I can’t just wait until they feel ‘ready’ to be done!

      But for crafting, it could really work, especially since I like to do 2 or 3 things at a time. Hmmmm… thank you! *goes to refresh memory*

      Like

Leave a Reply

