WIP Wednesday: Nobody Panic!

Wow.

Seriously. WOW.

What an amazing response to Monday’s giveaway – thank you so much everyone who’s left me a comment, and there are some great plans for that lovely yarn and fabric. It’s going to take me a long time to write down all the names so that I can draw them out of the hat! The giveaway is open til Friday, so do keep the entries coming – you can enter one, two or all three of the draws, although I have to say, you’ve got the best chance for the jewellery roll at the moment. That yarn is everyone’s favourite!

Speaking of yarn, I’m having fun and games in this week’s WIP Wednesday:

This is a Damson shawl that used to be 5 rows longer than it currently is. I’d got my stitch count hopelessly out for the edging, and it just wasn’t going to work, and I knew I needed to take it back. That was 6 weeks ago.

4 weeks ago, I took it to my lovely knitting group, who all made sympathetic noises and explained how to undo the knitting.

Last week, I decided that if I wasn’t going to have the guts to rip it out alone, I’d better take it along on Tuesday again and get someone to hold my hand while I undid all my hard work.

Under supervision, I threaded a lifeline, then began the unpleasant business of pulling out my stitches.

It hurt, I can tell you, but no actual tears were shed. Close run thing, though.

Then last night, I started putting all my stitches back onto the needle. Which was when I discovered that my lifelining hadn’t been as thorough as it might have been.

Yup, that stitch is well and truly dropped. Being a fairly inexperienced knitter, my approach to mistakes so far has been to waive them pathetically at Sadie so that she’ll take pity on me and put them right. But there’s no Sadie here today, and I want to get on with this shawl. So I took a deep breath, got out my craft wrap, and set to work.

Then I discovered that this whole ‘pick up stitch’ lark isn’t as easy as it sounds, and I’d not dropped one stitch, but two.

Hmmm…almost, but not quite. This is going to need more work, but probably not tonight as I don’t think my brain is up to it. About 3 minutes after taking that last picture, I was walking back to the office with my mind on my knitting rather than where I was going, and I walked straight into an iron girder (it holds up one of our exterior staircases).

I’m fine, I think, but it’s probably not the evening for learning a new knitting technique! So come on people, make me feel better and tell me about your worst ‘has to be ripped out’ project. I can’t be the only one to have this happen!

To see if others are making better progress this week, head over to Tami’s by clicking here or the picture below.

12 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday: Nobody Panic!

  1. Oh dear … I get quite tetchy (possibly the understatement of the century!) when that happens to me. I hate ripping back and I always try to fix it by just going back down to the root of the problem, trusty crochet hook in hand but sometimes it’s just all got to come out.

    Most recently it was a crochet project I had to rip back – I was doing Doris Chan’s ‘Jewel’ sweater and found I’d made a mistake that threw everything off about 8 inches back. Of course, with crochet there isn’t the issue of having to pick up the stitches but it was still extremely aggravating! When I’m knitting lace I use lifelines at regular intervals so that I know I won’t have to go back too far if I mess up – tends to keep the swearing to a minimum!

    Like

    1. Oh gosh, yes, I remember you saying about your Jewel sweater! That’s a lot to rip back, although it never feels quite so bad in crochet, does it?

      Which reminds me, I really should put a lifeline in the lace shawl I’m making at the moment – it’s bad enough trying to repair purple cotton DK. Trying to sort out black laceweight is not my idea of fun!

      Nice to know I’m not alone, though 🙂

      Like

    1. I was pretty gutted, I have to say. And it’s so frustrating not being able to fix the problem right now! Hopefully I’ll find a good tutorial today!

      Like

  2. I seriously hate frogging anything…..even a few rows makes me testy. So, I just try not to have to rip back and if I do, I will literally tink each and every stitch to get to where I need to be.

    Most recently, I was working on a blanket for my not-yet-born niece and it’s a four-row repeat (pattern, purl across, pattern, purl across) and I managed to do row three and four when I should have been doing row one and two (granted, rows two and four are the same but still). Once I discovered the mistake, I debated about whether I should just say, “screw it” and move on or if I was going to tink back. Tinking back won. So, two rows of a baby blanket which is over 350 stitches (total) were tinked back.

    The other one was the first (and only) shawl that I ever made. It was for a friend of mine and I started and restarted the pattern probably four times before I picked a new pattern. I’d get about three or four inches in and realize I was off somewhere or I dropped a stitch or something wasn’t lining up correctly. So, I’d rip it back and start over completely.

    I hate tinking. I hate frogging.

    I just don’t make mistake 🙂

    Like

    1. Good grief, that’s dedication! I’m not sure I would have done that – I’m a perfectionist in most things and so let myself off when it comes to crafting 🙂

      Like

  3. How about ripping out a whole garment. Now triple it! Yes I had three garments Thst’d just weren’t right, mainly from lack of swatching. A couple of mind ago I reduced them back to yarn. It hurt I tell you!

    Like

    1. Ouch ouch ouch! That doesn’t sound good at all 😦 I’ve recently become a big fan of swatching, but even then, I have to remember to check how it’s going every couple of inches. Don’t think I could bear to rip out 3 garments!

      Like

  4. Ouch! Both to the frogging and walking in to the girder. I’m sure you’ll get the stitches picked up alright in the end, and it will be worth it when you’re done. Look on the bright side – you’re learning lots of new tricks 🙂

    Like

    1. Aw, thanks 🙂 My head’s sore, but hard enough that I’ll survive!

      You’re right about new tricks. One of the things I’ve found hard with knitting is being able to recognise the structure of my stitches. Hopefully I’ll be much better at that once I’ve put the row back together!

      Like

    1. I really need to remember to put lifelines in as I go, rather than as an emergency measure. They’re dead easy to insert – just thread a darning needle and run it along next to your knitting needle. Then don’t pick it up as you knit the next row! It can really save you time if something goes wrong!

      Like

Leave a Reply

