WIP Wednesday: Some actual crafting

Um. You’re just going to have to take my word for it that I wrote this yesterday! I didn’t have a chance to take the pictures I wanted, but I’m still going to hook up to Tami’s like normal – there are lots of awesome posts there, so do check it out!

Nobody faint, this is an actual Work in Progress post. Yes really, I have been doing some crochet lately. And some knitting and even some sewing, although I don’t have any pictures of the last one.

Believe it or not, this is a prototype for a pattern that I hope to get finished soon. Amigurumi may look cute, but no one warns you how much maths is involved in writing them! My calculator (and my brain!) have been getting quite the work out. It’s now gone into testing, so hopefully I’ll have the pattern out by the end of the month.

I’ve also got knitting going on.

This is lurking in the bottom of my travelling bag, getting caught up in anything else that I put in there. The pattern a Feather and Fan shawlette, and the problem with it is that although 5 rows of it are straight knit or purl, the lace row needs real concentration, which means that I have to make time to do it. And with a couple of designs on the go, that time has seriously decreased. I need to get a shufty on though, as I want to wear it this summer!

Speaking of travelling bags, I’ve been pretty much surgically attached to mine recently. It’s like a comfort blanket, but one that’s actually useful!

This is my trusty travelling project bag, somewhat battered but holding up pretty well, I think. I love it because it hangs from my wrist and allows this obsessive crafter to stitch while walking along. And no, so far I haven’t walked into any lampposts. That only happens when I read and walk, and the last time it happened was in the middle of Tales from the City. But I digress.

Do other people have specific ‘travelling bags’? I have drawstring bags at home that I keep my other works in progress in, but this one and its twin are the ones that come on the road with me. What about you?

To see if others have made more progress than me this week, head over to Tami’s Amis here or by clicking the picture below.

2 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday: Some actual crafting

  1. Ooo exciting. A pattern! Can’t wait to see the finished item. I use my Nicsknots project bag a lot. I just holds two 50g skeins of yarn and the socks I knit from it on the two needles at a time. It’s nice and small and tucks neatly inside my handbag.

    Like

  2. oh lord a pet peeve of mine is people who dont look where they are going when they walk! Serioulsly!

    Great projects though, looking forward to seeing what that ami turns out to be 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

