Knitting and Crochet Block Week 2012: Day Two: Photography Challenge Day

Photography Challenge Day!
Today challenges you to be creative with your photography, and get yourself in with the chance to win the photography prize.

No entry from me, I’m afraid. The weather has been dreadful, my mental health has been awful, and I’ve been too awed by other people’s entries to think of anything myself. Go search on 3KCBWDAY2 to see the awesome things out there.

So here, nothing to do with knitting, but have a cute picture of a cheetah that I took at the weekend.

Instead, this challenge got me thinking about my photography. One of the things I really wanted to do in 2012 was improve my picture. We now have a nice camera, even my phone takes decent pictures most of the time, so I really wanted to learn more, do more, photograph more.


Even I find it hard to tell what this is now…

Of course, it hasn’t been quite that simple. My biggest problem is time. Being at work 9-5 means that photography has to happen in my lunch hour, and I’m afraid that if it comes down to a choice between photos and food, that’s not really much of a choice.


This black sofa is a regular feature in my pictures, not for its great contrast value but because it’s in the common room!

And that all assumes that the British weather cooperates sufficiently for me to get out into the light to take any pictures at all.


One of the reasons I love this picture is to remind me that we do get sun in Oxford sometimes!

Chances? Yeah, that’s what I thought.

The thing is, I live in a beautiful city, I love making beautiful things, and I absolutely lack imagination (and time!) to combine the two. Hopefully looking at people’s pictures from this challenge will inspire me to do more and do better.

To see all the wonderful pictures that were taken for today, search for 3KCBWDAY2.

3 thoughts on “Knitting and Crochet Block Week 2012: Day Two: Photography Challenge Day

  1. That is one cool cat … looks very chilled!! I love photography but I find photographing things I’ve made much more difficult than ‘normal’ photos.

    Like

Leave a Reply

