Spring, spring, spring

Hello, all, did you miss me? I’ve been keeping up with my reading, so it doesn’t seem like 3 weeks since I was around here! So what have I been doing in the meantime?

I’ve discovered that English paper piecing is a process akin to magic. That is, I knew people did it and it looked good, but I never quite believed it was going to work for me. Until it did!

I need a cushion for my chair at work, so I’ve been turning my scraps into hexagons, partly to make a cover and partly just to try out the technique. The results are lovely and I can’t wait to stitch them all together.

I’ve made progress on various knitting and crochet projects, but I don’t have pictures of them to show you right now. Oh, and I’ve sewed eyes onto a duck.

Isn’t he lovely?

I’ve been to Wales and back, the Peaks and Lincolnshire, I’ve been ill, I’ve listened to some amazing talks and I’ve not spent enough time asleep. The kitchen is now fully-tiled, the flat is a dusty tip and there’s still all the painting to do. Oh, and I’ve done something very brave and exciting that I can’t tell you about for a while. But it’s made my month.

With it being spring, I’ve done some spring-cleaning and updated my blog widgets (eyes right ->) and although I’m not up on the sew-alongs yet, I’m going to be and I’m definitely taking part in this year’s Knitting and Crochet Blog Week.

I’ve got my 2 year blogiversary coming up, a huge pile of projects and the prospect that my craft room might be redecorated this summer.

And most excitingly of all (if you suffer from SAD, that is), although I won’t be leaving work until 7pm tonight, it will still be light when I do so.

I’m telling you, life doesn’t get much better than *that*.

Oh, and in case you hadn’t gathered, I’m now on Instagram (jadesfire2808). Which has led to much photo-taking of increasingly random objects:

But that’s enough about me ๐Ÿ™‚ How’s everyone else doing? Did you get a break over Easter? Doing anything exciting at the moment?

2 thoughts on “Spring, spring, spring

  1. Looking forward to seeing those hexagons come together … I’ve sewn a fair few together myself in the last 6 months. Great way to use scraps!

    Sounds like you’ve been busy … I’m still struggling to get going on anything much. I need to pull my finger out as I need some gifts for family members when we visit the UK next month and time is running out fast!!

    Like

  2. Yay, you’re back ๐Ÿ˜€

    You sound very busy – and congrats on the secretive brave and exciting thing – whatever it is, I’m glad it made your month! I think I follow you on instagram (will check) – I only joined recently too – I’m pinkundine on there ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

