WIP Wednesday: Stitching for Summer (I hope!)

Oxford’s been having some lovely weather over the last week. Sunny, warm but not too hot and with lots of clear blue skies to gaze up at in delight. It’s been absolutely glorious, and I’m soaking as much of it up as I can, on the assumption that this is summer, and come April we’ll be back to cold and rain again.

It will surprise no one to hear that my WIP this week is my Critron. This thing seems to be taking so long that I went back through some of my pictures of this shawl to see if I could spot the progress.

What do you think? Can you see it growing?

No, me either. *sigh* I’m plugging away at it though, because when it’s done, it’s going to be one of my most useful shawls! I just need to hang on in there.

Hopefully I’ll have some time next week to work on it, as my mother and I are off to New Word Alive, a Christian conference in Prestatyn. I’m not holding out any hope that the weather will be as lovely as this, but I am hoping that I’ll have time between talks to do some sitting and digesting and thinking and praying, and that keeping my hands busy will help me to concentrate. But I’m being very good! I’m going to pack my clothes first, then the rest of my essentials, then only take as much crafting as I can fit into my suitcase. And the extra bag that I’m taking.

Shush, it’ll be fine. We’re taking the car.

But rather than just bore you with yet more non-update, I thought I’d share some of the funner stuff that’s come my way this week.

Isn’t this cool? I custom-ordered it from Heather on Etsy, and not only is it perfect, it arrived incredibly fast considering it had to cross the Atlantic. I have it sitting on my desk and it makes me smile every time I see it.

Speaking of smiling, I’ve decided that I need the pattern for these nesting boxes by Nova, and can’t wait until it’s released. Aren’t they cool??

Also delighting me at the moment is The Village Haberdashery. It’s a lovely online shop, but more than that, the blog is a joy to read and beautiful to look at. My order for batting came quickly and well-packaged, and I particularly love the way the site is set up. There’s lots of flexibility for creating kits and bundles, which I absolutely love. Go have a look! You’ll thank me later!

Now after spending your money, I’ve got some great ways to spend your time over the next few weeks as well. Starting next Monday there are TWO awesome sewing fests kicking off.

First up, we have a festival of love for those ubiquitous quilting blocks, Half Square Triangles

I happen to have a heap of HSTs lying around at the moment, so this festival could not have come at a better time. There are some awesome bloggers on the tour list, and I’m looking forward to getting some new ideas as to what I could do with my pile of fabric.

The other sewalong I’m excited about is the Zakka style one, which is going to run throughout the summer.

This is a really fab idea, to work through all the projects in the book with help from a whole host of amazing bloggers. I’ve got my copy of the book (you need a copy to sew-along – mine was from The Book Depository) and although I’ll fall behind right at the start because of my holiday, I’m going to on board until September. The joy of such a long project is that you can pick and choose what you want, so grab a book and have a go!

And just in case that’s not enough to be going on with, head over to Tami’s Amis to see what everyone has been up to this week by clicking here or on the picture below.

5 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday: Stitching for Summer (I hope!)

  1. How funny I have a knitting friend who is going to a Christian conference in Prestatyn next week too! If you see someone with knitting needles in their hands you never know, they might know me 😉

    Like

  2. I hate when I can’t see progress on a project – someone once advised me to put a split ring stitch marker on the row I start at and leave it there for a week, so I can see how much I’ve done!

    Good luck getting it done. Isn’t the weather gorgeous?! I am, of course, currently knitting a wooly jumper, but hey 😉

    Like

  3. I feel you, totally, with the lack of visual progress on a project. My knitted Citron is hiding in UFO land because I don’t want to think about the long rows right now. (Along with 2 or 3 other projects….. *hides in shame*) I’m impressed that you’ve been able to stick with your Critron so well. Kudos to you!!! 🙂

    Like

  4. I am having the lack of progress issue on a few things that have now made their way to the bottom of my WIP basket. However, that is going to be one lovely shawl so I think it will totally be worth the effort and just getting through it. Imagine when it’s finished and blocked and how you can feel proud of all those stitches 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

