WIP Wednesday: In progress and In potentia

It’s been an odd month, although that’s at least in part because to me, it’s felt like April. I’m having real difficulty remembering that it’s March, so goodness knows how confused I’ll be in a couple of weeks when it actually *is* April!

But March has mostly been strange because I feel I’ve got so much done. Lots of Finished Objects to show you, no mad starting everything in sight, gradually whittling down the things I actually want to make and getting them done, rather than just dreaming about them.

But it’s left me with a bit of a dilemma. What do I pick up next? Sometimes projects just aren’t quite ready to be started again- they’re still deep in hibernation and won’t come out until they’re good and ready. In an attempt to figure out what’s about to wake up, I dug out some of my long-standing projects this morning.


Arc de triomphe cardigan, Petals cardigan, Snowflake scarf, Juliana wrap

These are 2 cardigans, 1 scarf and 1 shawl, and all are in lovely yarn that I really want to wear. Putting them out in the sunshine like this has definitely rekindled my enthusiasm, and I think one of the cardigans has to be next on my agenda, if only because I don’t have many decent ones for the summer!

I have a project-to-be as well, which will be my F project for April:


Feather and fan shawl

Told you I had my months mixed up! I’ll be starting this next week, as soon as I get someone to explain the charts to me. It’s not that I can’t read them, it’s more that I don’t understand the instructions on what row to do when! So it’s coming to knitting group with me (hopefully) for translation.

In terms of more recent projects, I’m still plugging away at my Critron.


Critron

It’s still proving to be hard work, and only the loveliness of the finished fabric is pushing me onwards. I also try and stitch it while I’m doing something else – listening to the radio or walking to work – so that I can at least have something to occupy my mind.

And lastly (phew!) we have the project I’m probably most pleased with at the moment:


Harmony shawl

Yes, it’s a knitted shawl. It’s a knitted LACE shawl, and it’s looking pretty good so far. I’m very, very slow, and the pattern feels quite complicated (it’s not, it’s just me), but when I flattened it out and saw all the stitches heading in the right directions, I can’t deny that I did a small happy dance. I don’t think I’m every going to love knitting the way I do crochet, but I’ll admit the satisfaction from learning a new skill is immmense.

So yes, I’m back to my bad-old ways of having projects coming out of my ears, but really, did you expect anything else?

To see if others have a more sensible approach to their WsIP, head over to Tami’s here or by clicking the link below.

6 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday: In progress and In potentia

  1. Wow – you’re knitting lace now?! I’m impressed! I don’t knit lace, I don’t have the patience (that’s my excuse anyway!) but I keep meaning to give it another go. Your progress is looking fantastic already 🙂

    Like

  2. Having so many things on the go would drive me potty!! I’ve got a project that’s hibernating right now because it was meant to be using up some yarn- but I did too good a job and now need some more, so I started something else and it’s making me jittery.

    I’ve done some lace knitting and it’s not my favourite. Good luck with your feather & fan and harmony shawls!

    Like

  3. I always say I’m not a lace knitter…….and then I look at the lace items I’ve made and I realize I might have to rephrase that: I don’t knit with laceweight yarn. Too thin. Easily breaks (for me). So, if I knit lace, it’s at least in sock yarn (or worsted…).

    It’s okay. Lace isn’t that difficult as long as you don’t screw up. Lifelines are wonderful inventions 🙂

    Like

  4. Love the knitted shawl progress! As for your potential projects, I’m hosting a CAL in June for the Crochet Shoulder Wrappers group on Rav and the project is the Juliana Wrap. If you can wait til then, there will be lots of other people working on it who can help out 🙂

    Like

  5. You have so many great looking projects 🙂 I haven’t done a reveiw of my for a while – I’m a bit afraid to to be honest, lol. I think they multiply when my back’s turned!

    Like

Leave a Reply

