WIP Wednesday: On The Go

Although I always have lots (and lots) of projects on the go, I normally pick just one for Wednesdays. This is mostly because I figure if I can waffle for England on one item, I may well run out of room in the text box if I start talking about multiple ones.

On the other hand, I definitely feel the need to do a bit of a round-up of where I am on things at the moment. As usual, there are a couple of secret projects that I can’t show you just yet, but the other things I’m working on, I can definitely talk about.

First up is my new knitting project:

I can’t find this listed on Ravelry anywhere, but it’s from a Rowan pattern book. The yarn is an Amy Butler colour of Sweet Harmony, and the pattern is by Erica Knight. It’s fairly simple, although I did something stitch-droppy somewhere and it’s got a funny spot just as it widens out again. I’ve decided not to care, since no one but me will ever spot it, and I’m just chuffed that I’m actually knitting!

Next up is my new favourite thing in all the world. Honest:

It might not look like much, but getting it to this point was trouble and a half. I think my Handmaiden silk lace is lighter than the yarn originally used, and I’ve gone down to a 3.5mm hook to get my stitches usable. With a bigger hook, they were so…floofy…that I couldn’t work out what was the top and what was the side. Despite my being a tight crocheter, the 3.5 seems just right. Mostly, you’re told to go up a hook size to make fine yarn easier to work. Wouldn’t you just know I have to be contrary.

I’m also doing some sewing.

Oh, alright, at the moment I’m organising and selecting, but I’ll be sewing these soon. They’re just going to be a simple little lap quilt for me for work. My desk is over a cold air vent, so while the rest of the office is sweltering, I slowly freeze to death. Clearly a quilt is the only possible answer.

These are the projects I really, really, REALLY want to get done this month, along with my 2 secret makes, which I won’t be able to tell you about for a while. I also want to pick up a new skill, which I’ve decided will be short rows in Tunisian crochet.

For those of you who think I’ve suddenly started speaking double Dutch, it’s the same principle as short rows in knitting – adding extra fabric for shaping – but done in Tunisian crochet. All will be revealed soon!

Mostly because I don’t think I can leave this scrummy yarn alone much longer.

Weirdly, although it looks rather chaotic, I actually feel rather organised about my projects at the moment. I have my ‘bag of the month’ with all the supplies in it, and if I get restless, I just raid the bag for something new. The list is extensive, but defined, and I’m feeling pretty productive at the moment. How long that will last, I have no idea, so I’m just enjoying it while I can.

To see if others are having equally good weeks, head over to Tami’s Amis by clicking here or on the picture below.

7 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday: On The Go

  1. Your knitting is looking excellent ๐Ÿ™‚ Love the colour.

    Great idea on the quilt front – I have a shawl over the back of my chair at work as I sit right under the air conditioning vent and freeze to death most days. I love that we can craft things to improve the situation!

    Love the look of the new yarn, sounds like an excellent skill to acquire too. I think Tunisian crochet looks beautiful, but I’m fairly rubbish at regular crochet still – so it might be a while before I try it!

    Like

  2. Ooh, that silvery yarn is spectacular! Can’t wait to see what it grows up to be. I’m glad I’m not the only one who’s got loads of projects going at the moment, and I know what you mean about feeling oddly organized about all of it. Run with it! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  3. Bag of the month sounds like a great idea. I’m not very good at the self control when it comes to yummy yarns and starting new projects so I try to limit myself to two projects at a time. Can’t wait to see these develop!

    Like

  4. I love your way with words ‘the list is extensive but defined’ brilliant. All looking good! I am actually going to post a finished friday post on friday *faints*

    Like

Leave a Reply

