FO Friday: Plumeria Frill

Wow, it feels like ages since I actually had something to show you! I finished this over the Christmas holiday and wore it the day I finished.

Craft: Crochet
Pattern: Plumeria Frill (Free Ravelry download here)
Yarn: Old Maiden Aunt Merino Superwash 4ply
Notions: 4mm hook.

This was a really nice, easy crochet. After the set-up rows, there’s a good 10 rows of working in the pattern, back and forth, back and forth. Even better than that, the pattern doesn’t really take any memorising, since you just repeat the row below. If you’ve just learned post stitches, it’s great practice! If you already know how to do them, I have to be honest and say that it’s not the most engrossing stitch ever. Especially since each row increases, giving you that lovely curve.

It was perfect TV or conversational crochet, but on the occasions I just sat down to work on it on my own, it did feel like a bit of a slog. Put the TV on, grab a cuppa and settle down with it and it’ll be the perfect winter stitch.

As far as I remember, this was a reduced yarn that hadn’t quite dyed properly, but I absolutely love it.

There’s wonderful variegations in the colour, taking something that could have been rather flat and making it much more interesting. What the picture can’t possibly convey is the squidginess of the yarn. I’m more of a BFL girl myself, but this merino? AMAZING. It has bounce, softness and is a joy to work with. Even as the rows got longer (and longer!), the yarn was never dull, and I loved watching it form under my hook.

The other thing I love about this pattern is that it’s reversible.

Often with post stitches, the resulting fabric has a very clear right and wrong side, so you have to be careful which way up you wear your scarf! This pattern is so clever, and the stitches make it stretchy and textured. I also like patterns which are easy to adapt to your yarn – for this, I just kept going until I ran out! I haven’t blocked it, since I didn’t want to risk losing the bounce, and even though I’ve worn it just about every other day since I finished, it’s still looking pretty good. Really, really highly recommended.

Incidentally, these pictures are my first attempt at keeping a goal for 2012. We were given a gorilla tripod for Christmas, so I hooked it onto the tree, used the camera’s timer and hoped for the best. And yes, I cut my head off, but I always pull silly faces in photos anyway. You can see the scarf and that’s what matters.

Ooh, secondentally, this is my picture for today, on the theme ‘makes you smile’.

The sun was glorious during my lunch hour, so for once, I managed to get pretty good pictures of the colour. Purple rarely shows up well, but the bright, bright sun seems to have done the trick.

To see what other people have finished lately, head over to Tami’s Amis here or click on the picture below.

7 thoughts on “FO Friday: Plumeria Frill

  1. I know the designer!! She is a lovely lady. Yours looks great! I begged her to convert the pattern to knitting cause I like it so much. I thought your photog style was on purpose! Making it edgy or something. LOL

    Like

  2. Bah, the comment window ate my words šŸ˜¦
    That looks lovely and the colour is great on you.

    It was lovely and sunny today here, as well, no wind and almost *warm* \o/

    I’m loving your meme photos so far.

    Like

  3. Hoping my comment will show up this time (my other computer is a little more temperamental!)

    It’s absolutely stunning. This is exactly the type of project I show to people when they think crochet can’t be as pretty as knitting. Love the yarn too, such a pretty colour šŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

