FO Friday: Just a little something I made

I’ve been waiting since Monday to show you this. How patient am I?

We moved back into our living room about 6 weeks ago, and last week when we put the Christmas decorations up, it really felt like Ours, properly. The thing is, the furniture we fell in love with is white gloss. Utterly beautiful but definitely in need of some protection. Long term, I want to make some plain white mats for them, but since it’s Christmas…

What do you think? I mean, it’s not subtle, and not all of the points match, but overall, I’m pretty chuffed with it.

The fabric was bought last year from Darn it and Stitch, I think with the intention of wrapping presents with it. Since that never happened, I was left with a large pile of Christmas fabric, and at that point, I hadn’t discovered quilting. Fast forward one year, and my love of patchwork is only increasing, and it seemed to be the moment to have a go at something like this.

It was dead simple to make, as the instructions will show. Apologies for their slightly scrappy nature – I hope to make some shinier tutorials next year, but rough and ready is all I have time for at the moment.

There are no specific dimensions that this needs to be made to. Mine was sized to fit the sideboard, but it could be smaller or larger, or square or rectangular in the other direction. The world is the mollusc of your choice!

The instructions are for the top of the runner. I used a plain piece of red for the backing, and some more of the cream fabric for the binding, using Elizabeth Hartman’s tutorial here. For quilting, I just outlined each square, as I wanted it to be a runner rather than a quilt, if you see what I mean.

We only have this and the Christmas tree up in the living room, but I think it looks suitably festive. Hopefully at the weekend, we’ll also be able to put some presents under there!

Download the PDF here: Oh Christmas Tree

To see what other people have finished this week, head over to Tami’s Amis by clicking here, or the picture below.

13 thoughts on “FO Friday: Just a little something I made

  1. Oh, I love it! The bold colours look amazing with the white furniture, and the simple shapes are just perfect. I love the way it’s clearly a tree, but can also be viewed as just a really eye-pleasing geometric design. And I adore your starry fabric, too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

