NaBloPoMo 11: FO Friday

crocheted poppy

It’s a quiet, thoughtful Friday, which seems appropriate somehow. From the myriad quotes and remembrances that I’ve seen around the internet, this one has stayed with me more than others:

There are no unwounded soldiers in war

It’s going to be a subdued day around here, although I’m hugely grateful that it’s Friday at last. But that could be because for the first time in a long time, we actually have a free weekend. Nothing booked, no commitments, nothing. I may sleep.

Having taught a crochet class last night – my first in a while – I remembered just how much I enjoy teaching. We were doing cables, which are deceptively tricky, especially when crossing them, and it’s always a really intense class. Hopefully I didn’t get too technical, and since we had two lovely cable swatches by the end of the evening, I’m assuming everything was clear enough!

However, between planning for that, working on my new pattern designs and having to start a new shawl (I know, I know), I haven’t managed to get anything finished this week. Instead, I don’t think I ever got around to showing you these shawls, so I’m going to cheat and write about them today instead. Neither are in my possession any more, but they have reached their recipients and are keeping friends warm and snuggly.


Dual shot for comparison purposes.


I love the length of this – enough to keep you warm, but short enough not to get in the way.


It’s not always easy for me to find somewhere to block things! I’ve found that stretching and pinning them out on my noticeboard on work can help hugely. It’s not as good as wet-blocking, but it does give the stitches a chance to settle.

Craft: Crochet
Pattern: Eva’s shawl
Yarn: Knitting goddess silk/alpaca/cashmere (blue), The Yarn Yard cotton/tencel (aqua, discontinued)
Notions: 5mm hook for the blue, 6mm for the aqua

If you’re looking for a quick, easy and effective shawl pattern, I heartily recommend Eva’s shawl. The increases are easy to place, and the pattern is dead simple to memorise. I took these around with me as travelling projects, since I think I could have found them a little dull if I’d just sat and worked on them. They were perfect for ‘on the move’ and crocheting with friends, though, and I love how the difference in yarns and hooks have made them look like completely different shawls, despite the patterns being identical. I think this would be an idea ‘first shawl’ pattern, since you can just work it until you run out of yarn, and there’s not too much counting involved. The edging is dead simple, finishing the whole thing off neatly, and you can use any yarn you like.

One decided advantage of the rows of treble crochet is that it gives the shawl a lovely weight, so definitely make sure you pick a big enough hook for your yarn with this one. Although you could make it in laceweight, I’d be inclined to stick with fingering, or go for a heavy laceweight fibre like silk. Blocking can only to so much to give fabric drape, and there’s a real danger that this could turn out too stiff if you make it too dense, or too insubstantial if you make it too light. Both of these yarns are 4ply/fingering, and they were pretty much perfect.

I haven’t forgotten that I promised you a yarn post, by the way. But between classes, decorating and SAD, I haven’t had a chance to put it together. Getting the right combination is something that I feel very passionately about, so I want to make sure my post does the subject justice!

To see what others have finished this week (as opposed to cheats like me!), head over to Tami’s Amis here, or by clicking the picture below.

[ETA: I didn’t make the poppy at the top of this post! I bought it at Darn it and Stitch last night, and hope to keep it for many years to come.]

13 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo 11: FO Friday

  1. I have this shawl in my queue and hope to complete it as soon as I find the perfect yarn! Creative way to block your shawl πŸ˜› I’m sure it works pretty well though with that extra pull from gravity on it!

    Like

    1. It’s definitely worth waiting to get the right yarn for this. You’ll get a lovely shawl at the end of it πŸ™‚

      Hee, thanks! Gravity should definitely be listed in the ‘way to block things’ list!

      Like

  2. Call me stupid, but I didn’t realize you could do cables in crochet!! Doh! I will be putting that on my long list of things to learn next year.

    I know what you mean about blocking … I’m still looking for somewhere to block a shawl that’s about 2 metres across!!

    Like

    1. Not stupid at all! If you want to have a go, one of my patterns for P/HOP has full instructions as well as a simple pattern. They’re pretty easy once you get going, they just take a bit of getting used to.

      *whistles* That’s quite the shawl! Er…how big is your living room? And can you ban everyone else from it for a few days? ;D

      Like

  3. That is a perfect quote for the day. Even those that are physically unharmed by war are wounded in ways, civilians (esp. families of the soldiers) too.
    On a cheerier note, Your shawls are very pretty!

    Like

  4. The shawl looks great! Blocking is a big hassle here too – I have to clear the floor, lay down towels, spread my yoga mat on top, and then I can pin things out! The mat is too thin by it’s self and the floor is too hard, so I need the towels to give me something to stab the pins into. I’m planning on getting some foam jigsaw blocks for blocking though – the sort you get for kids. πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. I’m actually working this pattern in lace weight cotton at the moment. So pretty. πŸ™‚

    I love your blocking technique – I’m thinking of getting a large cork board for that purpose.

    Like

Leave a Reply

