NaBloPoMo 10: My Creative Space

Glad you liked the crochet, folks. It’s a nice project to pick up and put down, and I didn’t mean to put so many people off! It’s just that the increases for the mesh section are written in a way that I haven’t seen before, and I could imagine it would rather confuse you if you weren’t 100% confident of what you were doing in the first place. But it would make a great ‘first intermediate’ project, I think – lots of easy stitching with some brain stretching in the middle 🙂

I didn’t get much more done than I showed you, since I’m teaching a crochet class tonight and needed to fight various computer problems to get the class sheet printed out. We’re doing cables, which are simple in principle, but have lots of little tweaks that you can make to make them look really good.

It always feels like I don’t have much to say on Thursdays, since I tend to interpret ‘My Creative Space’ as ‘things I’ve been thinking about’, which is probably more interesting to me than anyone else! But I do really appreciate having this space in the middle where I stop, assess and really think about what I want to get done creatively over the next week or so.

If I’m honest, one of my favourite creative projects is to sit and write lists of all the creative projects I want to make. Recently, I’ve been trying to get that under control, since it’s much easier to sit and play with my yarn/fabric/bead/thread/tools than actually get anything done. To that end, every time I think of something I want to make, I add it to a Google doc, along with the materials I’m going to use to make it. I’m finding it’s really keeping me focussed, as well as plugging the holes in my terrible memory! Along with my bag-system and a couple of groups that I’ve joined, for the first time in a while, I really feel like I know where I’m going and what I’m going to do.

And that’s given me the confidence to chase down some stuff that I’ve been meaning to do for a while. Nothing big, and no news yet, but the simple act of stopping, saying ‘maybe I’m a creative person after all’ and doing something about it is…liberating…in an odd kind of way. I have a tendency to flap around a lot without getting much done or finished, and having a plan of sorts is helping focus my brain, definitely.

So we needn’t mention the new shawl I started yesterday. Need we?

Nah. It doesn’t count if it’s pink. Right?

To see if anyone else has been more sensible about their creative endeavours, head over to Our Creative Spaces here.

4 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo 10: My Creative Space

  1. I’m sure there are times when I spend far more time thinking about yarn and knitting and what I want to make, and all the million ideas I have, than actually making anything, so I know what you mean 😉 I tried organising my Ravelry stash and queue, which helped a bit, but I do find myself daydreaming when I’m at work still!

    Like

    1. I always have grand plans that I’ll go through, photograph my stash, and pair every yarn up with a pattern. Sadly, this has yet to work, but I’m having too much fun trying it to stop!

      Like

Leave a Reply

