NaBloPoMo 5: Attention span of a stunned duck

This is a swift-ish post today, as I’m heading off out soon. I can’t say what for at the moment, but I’m very excited about it, so I promise I’ll tell you as soon as I can.

However, part of my exciting day is going to involve sitting in a car for a couple of hours, then probably more sitting around for a few more hours when I get there. So naturally, I’ve been trying to work out what to take with me.


So many projects, so little time…

This was a much simpler problem before I took up crochet. It was even simpler before I took up dressmaking, quilting and knitting! At least then I only had one craft to choose from. Given how much I drop things, sewing isn’t a practical travelling option, and after some thought, I realised that taking knitting isn’t a good plan, since I have to concentrate quite hard to knit, and that doesn’t go well with crafting in public. So crochet it is. But the trouble with crochet is that it’s quick. What if I finish the project I started yesterday? Yes, I’m taking a book as well (you can’t be too careful), but I’m going to be with other people, so crochet is definitely the more sociable option.

Also, I have to bear in mind that I bore easily. What happens if I just take one project and get bored? In my head, being bored is just about the worst thing that can happen, so I have to plan for every eventuality. Honestly, it’s like travelling with a hyperactive toddler.

So you see here my travelling bag (fruit, lunch, water bottle, crochet kit, sundries needed for the day) which just about squeezes everything in; my handbag (book, notebook & pen, purse, tissues, phone, sweets) which I never go anywhere without; and my crochet (shawl, scarf, sample for class). There’s no way I’m going to finish all 3 projects, but there is a possibility I’ll get bored with crocheting, or bored with reading, or even (it could happen!) bored with writing lists.

It’s a good job I’ve got Angry Birds on my iPod.

[5 minutes after finishing the post, I wondered if I could squeeze my netbook in the bag as well. I think a hyperactive toddler is actually easier to entertain…]

One thought on “NaBloPoMo 5: Attention span of a stunned duck

Leave a Reply

