NaBloPoMo 2: WIP Wednesday

One of the nice things about taking part in so many link parties is that it’s going to make keeping up with NaBloPoMo much easier! I really love link parties. It can be hard when blogging to build a sense of community. Having previously used Livejournal where you can have a community site that everyone can post to, or Ravelry’s message boards, I find that blogging can make me feel rather separate from everyone else who blogs. It’s a bit like being at a big party with no one to introduce you – how do you start talking to someone? How do you even find the people you might find interesting? Link parties are great for that, and I really enjoy seeing what everyone is doing week by week.

I’ve had a very, very bad case of startitis over the last week, and I’m far too embarrassed to show you everything I’m working on. So let’s go with this instead:

This is the sample for my new pattern that should be out in the next week or so. Isn’t it an awesome colour? And the yarn is an alpaca silk that I could never wear but is heavenly to work with. My hope is that this time, I can publish both physically and electronically at the same time, which will be a first for me. I’m rather nervous about it, because there’s a small part of me that always thinks ‘no one’s going to like this, no one’s going to want this’ which is ridiculous, because I already know people like it (I love my pattern testers :)), and my previous patterns have done really well. Over time, I’m really starting to realise how my lack of self-confidence impacts on my creativity, which is something I want to come back to later in the month. For now though, I’m going to concentrate on getting these done in time for people to buy for Christmas!

To see what other lovely things are in progress this week, head over to Tami’s Amis here, or click the picture below.

14 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo 2: WIP Wednesday

  1. I know what you mean. I found so many fellow crafting bloggers when I joined The Blog Hug group on Ravelry and started joining in with WIP Wednesday and FO Friday. Together it made me feel more a part of a community.

    Like

    1. I find even Ravelry boards difficult, if I’m honest, but they’re easier than trying to find folk in the big wide world of the internet! Tami’s posts are the ones that have made a real difference to me, and helped me feel much more connected to people.

      I’m even getting better at commenting on other people’s blogs!

      Like

    1. Yay, thanks! I’ll email you in a minute.

      I’m chuffed to bits with my pattern and can’t wait to show everyone. Hopefully by this time next week!

      Like

  2. I look forward to see what you’re creating! Alpaca silk is so lovely too.
    I know just what you mean about feeling isolated when blogging. I’ve felt the same way.

    Like

    1. It’s nice to know I’m not the only one. There’s a certain irony in blogging to the world, only to feel that you’re all alone out there! Link parties are such a good way to meet people 🙂

      Like

  3. You’re right about the isolation in the blogging world. When I first started blogging I figured only my Mom would read it. Now, through these memes like WIP Wednesday, I’m starting to “meet more of the people at the party.” How do you do?!

    Like

    1. *grin* I’m good thanks, you? ;D

      Link parties are great for meeting folks. I try to make sure I get round as many as I can, although the number of hours in the day put restrictions on that!

      Like

  4. I love that bright pink, it’s fantastic! Alpaca silk is one of my absolute favourite fibre combinations, I love how soft and warm it is! WIP Wednesday and FO Friday are awesome, but I find it so hard to get round everyone sometimes!

    Like

    1. It’s great having so many links to click, but it can get a bit overwhelming sometimes. I think it’s still the best way to meet people, though.

      The yarn is truly fabulous – can’t wait to show off the FO 😀

      Like

    1. Heh, one day I will round up all my WIPs to take a picture, and when I come round from the faint this will cause, maybe I’ll actually get some of them finished!

      Like

Leave a Reply

