WIP Wednesday: And now for something completely different

Hopefully on Friday I can show you the FOs that have been causing me headaches for the last week or so. They’ve been sitting on the windowsil glowering at me for the last few days, and I’m hoping someone else will have some inspiration.

I’ve finally started my Christmas crafting, but no pictures on that until the new year, so isn’t it a good job that I started 2 other projects? They’re almost ones from my list and everything!

This yarn is the most astonishing colour. It ranges from pale lilac to the deepest rich purple I’ve ever seen. It’s a joy to crochet with, just like my last purple yarn from Old Maiden Aunt, and it’s had me happily sighing since I started it last night. The pattern is Plumeria frill, and it’s turning out to be interesting already. I love post-stitches!

No, your eyes do not deceive you, that is knitting you see there. Thanks to my lovely knitting friends, I’ve managed to start this shawl, which is by the equally lovely Stitched Together. I desperately wanted to knit something, but the blanket I started was waaaaaaaaay too ambitious for a beginner (anyone surprised? no?). This is a little ambitious for someone who’s never knitted a whole ‘thing’, but I really can’t face making a square scarf, if I’m honest. And I wanted to see if I wasn’t enjoying knitting because the patterns were boring, or if I just don’t like it. I love big shawls, so hopefully this will tell me! The yarn is King Cole Riot, same as I used for my All Shawl, so I already know I like it. The sunlight makes it look much fluffier than it feels in real life!

To see what others are working on this week, check out Tami’s Amis here or by clicking the picture below.

16 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday: And now for something completely different

    1. Isn’t it? I had to take the picture in direct sunlight to get the colour to come out, and it was definitely worth it. It’s going to make a lovely shawl 🙂

      Like

    1. The purple? It’s by Old Maiden Aunt. She has her own site, but various yarn shops sell it as well 🙂 the grey King Cole Riot is from my local charity shop!

      Like

  1. I like knitting where the pattern has enough going on to keep me interested … but that doesn’t happen so often. I made something in garter stitch earlier this year and was so bored by the whole experience I forgot to blog about it … or even photograph the finished object! Hope your shawl keeps you interested!

    Like

    1. As a beginner, garter stitch is awesome! I’m loving this shawl, because it’s mostly knitting, with some yarn overs and just one purl at the end of each row. The blanket was boring me to tears and I kept losing count! When it comes to crochet, I adore the process, but I think for knitting, it’s going to be the finished object that I want 🙂

      Like

    1. Thanks 🙂 The instructions are lovely and clear, and it’s nice to feel I can tackle something pretty without having too much trouble. I got my friend to pick up the stitches for me though! Hopefully I’ll get some interesting striping from the yarn as well as the lovely squishiness. It’s definitely a good value yarn!

      Will let you know how I get on 🙂

      Like

  2. Pretty, pretty purple! There seems to be lots of it going around this week. Love that your first knit object will be a lace shawl. Ambitious! That Stitched Together is a pretty smart cookie, though. I bet the pattern is brilliant.

    Like

    1. I hadn’t thought about the shawl being lace! It’s all knit, with only one purl at the end, so it’s quite simple. The only problem is that I keep forgetting the YOs and will have to frog for a 3rd time to make the stitch count work! 3rd time lucky, I hope!

      Like

  3. I am in love with that yarn!!!!

    Best of luck to you on the shawl–the one I attempted, I was afraid was too ambitious but it turned out to be the perfect combination of challenge and enjoyment. I hope yours goes as well. 🙂

    Like

  4. The purple yarn is gorgeous. I hope you’re enjoying your knitting now. I learnt to knit a long time a go, but I never really got into it, and I’ve forgotten how now. I’ve learnt to knit with my crochet hooks recently and I’m loving it! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment