My Creative Space: In Recovery

since this is kind of a long post, I thought I’d put the Creative Spaces link up here so you can’t miss it. click here to see what everyone is making this week

It’s Thursday! You know what that means? Holiday tomorrow. Woo hoo! And wow, my body is definitely telling me that it’s ready for a rest.

This morning’s fun symptoms were stomach-related, probably brought on by all the snuffling and how tired I am at the moment. Fortunately, I have a fabulous husband who got up early to drive me to work, since at the time I didn’t even think I could walk to the bus stop.


picture by Carbon nyc on Flickr.

What would I do without him, eh?

Thanks for all the birthday wishes yesterday. I was too exhausted last night to make chocolate cake, but I plan to get to it this evening, then drop it into work early tomorrow morning. Kind of like a cake fairy.


cake by Treasures and Tiaras, from Flickr here

Yup, just like that. Only more sparkly and with more chocolate ;D

I’ve been lining up quite a lot of projects lately, shuffling fabric and yarn around, and generally having a bit of a clear out. It’s really helped me re-focus on what I want to make, what I want to learn and do, and what I really enjoy the most.

I’ve said this before, but since I have a tendency to forget, it bears repeating. I love my crochet. The pattern I’m working on at the moment is driving me nuts with all the maths, but since I now have a deadline (it must be done by Saturday to give to the person who asked for it!), I feel more focussed and settled about it. The shaping’s coming together, and I’m even looking forward to figuring out the maths to make it all work.

Also, once it’s done, I can rip out everything I’ve done and make one for myself in my size! I think it’s going to be a lovely pattern, and I hope to have it in the shops in time for Christmas. If I’m feeling efficient, it might even be the first pattern I make available for download. Picking it up, playing with it, fighting with it and getting it settled has been such a joy. It makes my brain ping in all the right places, and I’m really looking forward to seeing it finished.

Changing the subject completely, I realise that my posts over the last couple of weeks make it sound like I’m falling apart at the seams. While that doesn’t feel entirely untrue, I have to say that since I started my medication, I’ve definitely had a significant reduction in anxiety and improvement in depression. There’s still a HUGE stigma attached to taking drugs for mental health problems, but they’re helping me enormously, just giving me enough energy to cope. That’s especially valuable at the moment, when I’ve felt so physically unwell. Yes, I’ve been grumpy, tired and generally annoyed that I feel a little bit like I’m falling apart, but the soul-sucking blackness is so much better, that I can’t imagine going back there now. I don’t like to talk about it too much, since this is a craft blog, not a health one, and I’m aware it makes people a little uncomfortable. But unless more people in my situation talk about it, it stays somehow secretive and a little bit shameful. I’m not ashamed of it, and I’m incredibly grateful for modern chemistry that means I have some help to cope with my condition.

Okay, that’s enough seriousness for today. I won’t be in over the weekend, but I’ll be back on Monday, as it’ll be my 100th post, and my first in my 30s! I might even have some things for you, although I probably have to draw the line at posting out chocolate cake.

3 thoughts on “My Creative Space: In Recovery

Leave a Reply

