My Creative Space: Looking for get-go in All the Wrong Places*

As my absence from this space over the last few weeks suggests, I’ve been in the doldrums recently on a lot of fronts. You know when you’re having one of those times? Nothing’s really seriously wrong, I just have no energy and no inclination to do anything about the fact that I have no energy. The weather today definitely sums up my state of mind.

I’ve kept my head above water on the basics, but all the stuff I really properly enjoy doing? That’s been sadly neglected. Which of course makes me more despondent and lo, a vicious circle is born. In general, I’m an ‘all or nothing’ type of person, and one of the things I’ve been working really, really hard on lately is taking baby steps. Because when you go flat out, you tend to burn out quickly and feel even more of a failure than you did before. The other thing I’m working on is talking to people (hi!), because I *know* I’m an extrovert, I know I need to see and communicate with people, but when I hit the doldrums, I shut myself off from them. Then wonder why I feel so rotten.

Oh yes, did I mention that I can be rather dim sometimes? ;D

Anyway, as part of my ‘get Laura moving’ campaign, I’m drawing myself up an easy blogging schedule, I’m trying to see as many of my friends as possible, I’m making sure I comment as well as read blog posts and I’m looking for more groups to join. Not ones that will put me under too much pressure, just that will help me talk to people.

So with that in mind, I’ve signed up for Self Stitched September over at So Zo’s, with the following pledge:

‘I, Laura of Made in Oxford, sign up as a participant of Self-Stitched-Sept ’11. I endeavour to wear at least 1 self-made item each day for the duration of September 2011’

I’m normally very wary of these sorts of things, as not keeping up makes my sense of dooooooom kick in, but I also need motivating at the moment, mostly to use all the garment-sized pieces of fabric that are taunting me from my stash. I have my list all drawn up, and I’m reassured by everyone making fantastic Sorbettos at the moment that if nothing else, I should be able to whip up a good collection of sleeveless tops!

I also hope to double the size of my collection of crocheted cardigans:

This is still very much in progress, but it’s my own design for the first time in a long time, and I’m loving how it’s coming out.

For more creative spaces, head over here.

That’s the craft side taken care of, so it’s the social side that needs work now. I’m really looking forward to getting out to the Festival of Quilts, meeting people I’ve bought things from and hopefully nattering with lots of enthusiastic stitchers. Is anyone else going?

*Bonus geek points to anyone who knows where I nicked and edited the title of the post from

One thought on “My Creative Space: Looking for get-go in All the Wrong Places*

  1. I’ve never had the courage to join in with anything like Self Stitched Sept – so you have my deepest respect for committing to that one, Laura. Hope it helps to motivate you (I fear it would have the opposite effect on me and lead to total inaction!). The crocheted cardi looks good!

    Like

Leave a Reply

