Raising the Knit (and stitch!) signal high

Thanks to a combination of health and flat-decorating, I haven’t been able to get as much done over the last couple of weeks as I’d like. So no FO post today, even though I have things to show you. You’ll just have to wait until I can get myself, my husband, the camera and some daylight all in the same place at the same time.

So why am I making a point of posting today? Some of you might remember that a while back I donated some patterns to P/HOP, who support the work of MSF. I’ve found it deeply upsetting this week that the famine in Somalia has been pushed down the news agenda, and even the official declaration from the UN only seemed to bump it up the list for a few hours. But the situation is desperate, and the political situation is only making things harder. Because of their non-political status, MSF is able to be in areas that other agencies can’t, and they’re making a real difference. P/HOP, who are usually focussed on long-term fundraising, have raised the knit signal, calling all knitters (and associated stitchers) to the cause.


(picture originally by The Yarn Harlot)

Everyone’s strapped for cash right now, but even the tiniest donation will make a huge difference. Normally, I’d be sending you straight to the P/HOP page, and I still to urge you to make it your first port of call when you’re looking to buy a new pattern, but in this case, the money will just take too long to get to where it’s needed.

So go straight to The Somalia Appeal Page, and it’ll only take 2 days for your cash to start helping. You can also put this in your own blog, on twitter, anywhere that people might see it, and keep on making a difference.

Leave a Reply

