My Creative Space: In with the new

Phew, what a week. Busy every night, away over the weekend, busy every night this week. Then there was counselling yesterday which was really good and really hard, and so has left me in tiny little pieces that I’m still working out how to put back together again. As I keep telling myself, it’s taken a long time to get myself into this state, it’s going to be a long time to get out of it again.

As a result, most of my creating has been on the move, although I have cut out the pieces for a baby kimono:

These are so easy to make, I love them. This one is for a colleague’s new baby, who is a girl, but I liked the blue fabric best. I just hope I can get it constructed before she grows out of it.

This is another in the ‘mystery project’ series. It’s almost ready to go to its new owner, so hopefully I can do a big reveal soon!

But my biggest reveal of all, the most exciting thing to happen to me this week, is this:

If you’re thinking “that looks like a Singer Curvy 8770, brand new, still in box” then you’re dead right! It’s my 30th birthday present from my mum and okay, my birthday isn’t til August, but what’s a few months between friends? I was so excited when it arrived that I spent my coffee break reading the instruction book. Yes, that is reaching new heights of geekiness, but I honestly don’t care, it’s just so cool! I can’t wait to get it home and start playing with it. It has 225 stitches! I didn’t even know 225 stitches existed! It’s going to be an awesome adventure.

Although clearly none of them will as exciting as this πŸ˜‰ see everyone else’s creative spaces by clicking here

8 thoughts on “My Creative Space: In with the new

  1. If counselling leaves you in bits it means that it is working. You are dealing with hard stuff that needs bringing out and looking at. It is worth this pain now to make you stronger in the long run.

    Like

    1. Oh yes. But I’m starting to understand the value of doing these things on a retreat or other getaway. It’s hard to function normally when you’ve got this swirling mass in your head. It’s getting better and it’s worth it, just hard.

      Thank you.

      Like

  2. Ohhh …. a new machine!! I’m going green with envy here, but my old workhorse is still going strong so I keep telling myself I can’t justify a new one.

    Hope you’re finding the counselling useful.

    Like

    1. *grin* I’m so chuffed with this thing, I can’t begin to tell you. I was using Mum’s old machine which is starting to show it’s age, so I’m hoping this one will last me as long as hers lasted her!

      Thanks. It’s useful and good, just hard work πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Yay, new machine. I have you beat on the stage of geeky-ness. When I ordered my new Singer a few months ago, I downloaded the manual to read days before my machine arrived.

    Can’t wait to see your mystery projects and how the kimono will turn out.

    Like

    1. Wow, you definitely win the geekiness award! How are you finding the machine? I’m hoping that having read the instructions, I’ll be able to get going nice and quickly.

      Thanks πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. So awesome! I got my first sewing machine for my 33rd two weeks ago and I have logged about twenty hours (two merino baby blankets, three wraps and a couch cover made of industrial upholstery fabric) so far. Best present ever! Can’t wait to see what you do with it! xx Christine

    Like

    1. I’m impressed that you can get close enough to the machine to sew! That’s some serious nesting you’re doing there πŸ˜‰

      I’m still really exploring what this thing can do – it’s got more settings than I have brain cells!

      Like

Leave a Reply

