WIP Wednesday: Sekkrits

This post is brought to you by the words “oh” and “dear”. I really am working on a lot of projects at the moment, but almost all of them are for other people! I’m terribly proud of them, but can’t show them off until their recipients have seen them – it just doesn’t seem fair somehow.

Actually, my biggest current work in progress I started this morning and won’t know the results of for some time. Drum roll, please!

*drum roll*

I have decided to give up caffeine.


Photo by Fortinbras on Flickr.

Right, now you’ve finished recoiling in horror, you can carry on reading! No, I haven’t gone mad, I’ve just become very aware of how dependant I’ve become on coffee to keep me going. And as someone who has a cluster of anxiety issues, migraines and sleeping problems, I can’t help feeling that’s a little unwise. It’s also the first thing a health questionnaire always asks, and I feel a bit daft for complaining about the problems wihtout doing anything about them. So I’m giving up the caffeine and trying to get back on Slimming World 100%. The two may actually be connected, since coffee makes me crave cake, something else that’s not doing my headaches or energy levels any good! My head is not happy with me this morning, and I’m sure it’ll be even crosser tomorrow, but I know from experience that if I can get to the weekend without cheating, I’ll feel a heckuva lot better. Also, I’m allowing myself decaf coffee, which at least has the placebo effect! I’ll report in on progress, assuming I survive…

(Incidentally, I am trying not to substitute sugar/caffeine for other things, which isn’t easy when Fabric Rehab go and do something like this: Thrifty bits. Polka dots for Β£5.30 a metre? *whimpers*)

So in terms of photos, I’m afraid that all I can show you is this:

And this:

Which give you a flavour of what I’m doing without (I hope!) giving too much away.

Also, after doing these for a while, I’ve decided that I much prefer playing with others, so am adding my link to those over at Tami’s Amis. Click the button below to head over and see what others are up to.

18 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday: Sekkrits

  1. Oooh, secret projects and mysterious photos…. Interesting πŸ˜‰

    Hope the caffeine experiment goes well. I’m weird with the stuff, it always makes me go to sleep!

    Like

    1. Heh, that makes it sound far more exiting than it actually is! I really need to start making things for myself rather than others. It’s going to be a selfish summer πŸ˜‰

      Like

  2. I’ve often heard caffeine helps migraines, and in fact one of the most long term old meds to treat migraines is loaded with caffeine, so maybe you should rethink your plan. Don’t know how many cups a day you drink though, and that might be answer. I have 2-3 in the morning and that’s it for the day. I’m also not a pop drinker so don’t get more that way.

    Good luck on all fronts.

    Like

    1. Caffeine does help my migraines, hugely. What worries me is that I’ve essentially become dependent on it to function, which is less helpful! Hopefully if I can wean myself off relying on it, when I do drink it (I plan to go back to having 1, first thing in the morning, but staying off the coke) it’ll make a bigger difference when I need it!

      Thanks πŸ™‚

      Like

    1. It’s not the most fun I’ve ever had, I have to say :S I’m keeping the paracetamol and codeine close to hand! I’ve tried cutting back, but kept forgetting – this seems to be the only way for me :S I’ll report back on progress!

      Like

    1. Ooh, that sounds way better than ‘retail therapy’ πŸ˜‰ And it is nearly summer, and I don’t have many summer dresses… πŸ˜‰

      Thanks!

      Like

  3. Good luck with the giving up – it sounds very hard to do. I really cut down on caffeine a while ago now and found that buying lots of herbal teas as an alternative (something to treat myself too) worked pretty well. Your WIP pics remind me of those kid’s quizzes where you have to work out what something is whilst the camera pulls out. Looking forward to seeing the answers!

    Like

    1. I’m not terribly keen on herbal tea, so I’m going down the decaf route for now. I’ll probably go back to one a day once I’ve weaned myself off, but I think I need to give up completely first.

      Heh, it was fun taking the pictures, but it’ll be a while to the full reveal. I’ll have to get on with some things for myself in the meantime! πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. I am in the same caffeine boat with you. I am an addict, isn’t that the first step toward rehabilitation? I feel your pain goin cold turkey, decaf just doesn’t cut it, I add hot choc… I have really enjoyed your post and will watch for you in future.

    Like

    1. Heh, yes, admitting you have a problem is definitely the first step.

      Decaf definitely doesn’t cut it, but at least it tastes right. I’m determined to keep off everything, although adding hot chocolate sounds like a cunning plan for desperate mornings πŸ™‚

      Thanks!

      Like

  5. Wow, giving up caffeine is an epic-sized WIP. Go, you! I’ve been thinking it would be a much healthier route for me to take as well, but I haven’t taken the plunge yet. Hope it’s smooth sailing for you!

    Like

    1. Well, it’s day 2 and I’m still upright, which I take to be a good thing. Decaf is also helping, because my brain isn’t bright enough to know the difference πŸ˜‰

      Thanks. I’ll keep everyone posted!

      Like

  6. You tease with the pictures! I can’t wait to see them when you finish and can share them with us! I gave up caffeine for awhile after I had pneumonia. I couldn’t drink anything hot while I was sick, or carbonated, so I actually gave up soda too. That was 3 years ago. I slowly started drinking coffee again a few months after, but still don’t drink soda. I used to drink at least a Coke or two a day. Now I only really drink soda if it has alcohol in it. LOL

    Like

    1. It’s so frustrating at the moment, not being able to show what I’m working on. If the postman is quick, I might be able to by the end of the month!

      That sounds like a cunning plan for soda drinking πŸ˜‰ I’m sticking with cold turkey, at least until I’m sure I’m completely free, then I’ll probably go back to one a day. Hopefully it’ll also have more effect that way!

      Like

Leave a Reply

