Start the Week: Packing it in

This week, I have definitely been suffering from time-warp syndrome. You know the one, where each weekday seems to be about 48 hours long, but the weekends are so quick that you blink and miss them. After a lovely sunny walk (note to self: yes, you really do burn that quickly) and a yummy dinner with my in-laws, I spent most of Sunday scrubbing, cleaning, sorting and cleaning. So much cleaning.


Picture by inf3ction on Flickr here

We move at the end of the month, and I realised at the end of last week that we’re busy for the next two weekends. How exactly I’m supposed to get everything off shelves and into boxes between now and the move, I have no idea. Where’s Mary Poppins when you really need her?

Not incidentally, I have about 4 craft projects that will need to be finished before we go. It’ll be a while before I have proper workspace in the new flat, so I need to get the sewing stuff done while I can have the machine out. Once May comes, it’ll be packed into the garage for a while, and it’ll be crochet all the way! There are good things, though. We’ve planned what to do with our new ‘spare room’ and I’m seriously excited about it, and there are already 2 viewings for our old flat, so we’ll hopefully get the early release we need from our lease. The bad news is that there’s a lot of tidying to do tonight if we want anyone to take it! I’m sure we’ll find a way to get it done, but I think my lists are going to multiply if I don’t want to miss anything.

All the packing will get done, though. Along with the 4 crochet projects and 8 sewing ones. I’m sure. Somehow.

Proof that I can do things without realising I’ve done them comes in the form of this baby kimono! Isn’t it sweet?

It’s for a friend’s baby girl who is almost 6 weeks old – I hope it’s not going to be too small already. The fabric is from Darn it and Stitch, and the pattern is from here. It’s only available by email, but don’t be shy! It was dead easy to make (once I read the instructions instead of making it up all by myself), and I get the feeling it could be addictive if my machine wasn’t about to go into storage.

Does anyone have an extra day of the week they could lend me? If not, I’d be happy with some packing tips. I have a tendency to start methodically then panic halfway through, so suggestions for how not to get to that point would be gratefully received, especially since it’s going to have to be done in 1 hour slots in the evenings.

If the blog posts suddenly disappear, at least you’ll know why! I’ve been crushed by a pile of boxes of yarn 😀

2 thoughts on “Start the Week: Packing it in

  1. Having just moved (I’m in unpack mode!!) I can seriously recommend paying someone to help you pack. We move every 2-3 years and it takes so much of the stress off your shoulders. I realise it’s not an option for everyone because of the cost, but I’d far rather spend the money getting someone to help me pack and wait for any new furniture or whatever I have planned for your new place. Alternatively rope in all your friends and family and have a packing day … promise to feed and water them and it’ll get done in a flash!

    Good luck with everything – and I hope you manage to make your move as stress free as possible.

    Like

    1. I did have someone pack up my flat before I was married, and it was WONDERFUL. Sadly the budget absolutely won’t stretch to that this time. The friends idea is good one, though, if I can find a suitable day. They’re running out fast!

      Thanks. I’m tired all the time at the moment, which I think is subliminated stress – I actually feel quite calm about it all, just exhausted, so I think it’s coming out in my subconscious. Clearly I need more lists to feel more organised ;D

      How’s the unpacking going? I’m never sure which end is worse…

      Like

Leave a Reply

