Something for the Weekend: Free patterns!

Gosh, I think that’s a post for every day this week! I’m obviously feeling chatty at the moment.

Oddly enough, I think I get more crafting/writing/creating/useful stuff done in the evenings during the week than I do at the weekend. There’s something about Saturdays that makes me lazy, I think. My brain says “I need a break” and takes one, whether I like it or not. So what I really like to do over the weekends is easy stitching, the kind of thing where I can sit down with a pattern for a couple of hours and just stitch. Projects that require lots of pattern-checking aren’t really good for carrying around with me, but I also don’t want to take on something that’s going to require too much brain power.

Maybe I had my weekend stitching in mind when I designed these two patterns. A few weeks ago, you might remember that I blogged about Fibres Exotica, who sell amazing sari silk yarn that’s both a challenge and a joy to work with. The patterns from that yarn are now available, and even better, they’re free! Hope no one minds a quick plug, but it’s such a thrill to see them all formatted and done, and since it’s been a long week, I need some excitement at the end of it.

The pattern page is here, and my two are Perchi and SlouchyPouchy.

Perchi is a little ribbed hat, especially designed for the spring mornings we’re getting at the moment. It was 4 degrees when I left the house this morning, but it’s supposed to get up to 18 later on. With the stretch from the ribbing and its short sides, Perchi is just right for keeping out the chill without overheating my head. It also folks up really small in the bottom of my bag for going home in the sunshine. You do need to know how to do post stitches in order to make it, but once you’ve got the hang of them, it should be fairly simple to work through.

SlouchyPouchy is exactly what its name suggests – a slouchy pouch! Intended to really show off a spectacular yarn, it’s a simple bag and absolutely perfect for a beginner. Nothing but trebles, round and round then up. The drawstring is made from a long chain, and the bag is big enough for a quick trip to the shops or a spring stroll.

I’m chuffed to bits with these patterns, which are (for once) exactly what I wanted them to be. They’re not onto Ravelry yet, although they should be at some point. For now, you can download them and other lovely ones (knitting and crochet) from the Sari Silk website.

Enjoy, and happy weekend, everybody!

2 thoughts on “Something for the Weekend: Free patterns!

    1. Ooh, that would be so cool! The slots for the strap are the height of a treble, so you could make it pretty wide without too much difficulty. Hope you enjoy ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

Leave a Reply

