WIP Wednesday: Too many to count

As I said on Monday, I’m feeling a little swamped by projects at the moment, so I sat down yesterday and sorted them into “things for me” and “things for other people”. There are also a couple of “things for someone” but we won’t talk about those. It turned out not to be as bad as I thought, since most of the projects ended up in the “for me” column, and there’s no rush on them. I’m going to slowly work my way through the “for others” column, so we won’t talk about the scarf I started for myself last night, eh? *embarrassed cough*

But my main WIP right now, which is rapidly turning into an albatross, is this shawl.

I’m persevering with it because I know I’m going to love it in the end. It’ll be light and lacy, but warm from the wool and big enough to be properly useful. However, as I’m now on the last set of repeats, I’m at the widest point and each row seems to take f-o-r-e-v-e-r. I’m going to need to block the heck out of it to see the stitch pattern, but it’ll be worth it in the end. It’s a lovely, simple pattern and would be great for a beginner, I think. For me, it’s been an ideal ‘mobile’ project, since I don’t have to think too hard about the stitches and can talk and crochet at the same time. However, when stitching on my own, I think I need something a little more challenging so that I don’t lose the will to live (or hope of ever finishing) halfway along the row. Which may explain that scarf we’re not going to talk about!

Does anyone else have these projects, where they desperately want to have done them, it’s just that the doing of them is proving hard work? It can’t just be me, can it?

4 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday: Too many to count

    1. Oh gosh! You’ve really made me smile with that one, mostly because I now have a mental image of you spending the whole year wrapped in it at various stages of completion 😀

      There are definitely some projects that fight back. But we’ll beat them in the end!

      Like

  1. I always find that the ‘things for relatives’ are the ones that never get done. I do ‘things for paying customers’ and ‘things for friends’ birthdays’ but the family still don’t have any of my stuff. The shawl looks very promising – show us again when its finished?

    Like

    1. I know just what you mean. I don’t have much family, but it took me forever to make my Mum’s Christmas presents, while things for friends and birthdays are usually more or less on time.

      Thanks 🙂 The pictures of the shawl are definitely good for me – when I’m working on it, all I can see are the endless rows, but from the photos, I can see it’s coming together. Hopefully I’ll get there soon!

      Like

Leave a Reply

