Start the Week: Busy Doing Nothing

Well, not quite nothing, but it feels like that’s what I’ve been doing for the last week or so. That wretched virus had me laid up for a good ten days, and I’m still not back to normal. Don’t sell those shares in Kleenex just yet!

For me, last week was mostly irritation, coughing and extreme boredom as I got well enough to potter around the flat, but not well enough to come to work. I still have a cough, but my colleagues will just have to put up with it, because I swear, another day at home and I would have actually gone stir crazy.

I recovered enough to do the odd bit of stitching, mostly finishing up projects that had been languishing, sewing in ends, that kind of thing. Unfortunately, all the pictures are on the computer at home, so I’ve linked you through to my project pages at My Sewing Circle and hope you can see them!

The first was a charity shop purchase, a plain black t-shirt with stick on sparkles that had mostly fallen off. A while back, I bought a lacy butterfly from Darn it and Stitch without really knowing what I was going to do with it, and this seemed like the perfect opportunity. It really brightens it up.

The next was The Reversible Bucket Bag from The Bag Making Bible, which I made expressly to put a large crochet motif on. Because of that, it’s non-reversible, but I’m chuffed to bits with how it worked out. The pink is a Kona solid from The Fabric Loft, the lining was a charity shop find and I’m blowed if I can remember the outer, although I think it’s a Michael Miller print. Can anyone help me out?

The other thing I’m really chuffed with is this (plus I have pictures!)

The fabrics came in a bundle from Backstitch and is by Erin McMorris, although I think the green is now discontinued. I love FQs for getting a look at patterns and fabric, but it can be hard knowing what to do with them. This is the perfect solution, and the button came in my scrap swap parcel. The bottom is reinforced with cardboard, which I put inside the lining, rather than just in the bottom as the pattern (found here) suggested.

It might not look like much to you, but it’s cheered my lunches up no end. Food is something I really struggle with, and there are so many days when I just don’t want to eat what I’ve got with me. But it’s such a waste of money to buy things when you don’t have to, and it doesn’t do my health or my waistline any good at all! So having a cheery little bag that I made myself makes me want to eat my lunch, which has to be a good thing.

Incidentally, do drop in and have a look at My Sewing Circle if you sew – it’s small at the moment, and definitely needs more people to give it that ‘critical mass’, but I’ve found folk to be incredibly friendly, and the site looks really promising. If you click the button in my sidebar (yes, another button!) it’ll take you straight to my project page.

While you’re clicking off into the wilds of the internet, let me direct your attention to a few more lovely things:

Fabric Rehab are a lovely little online fabric store, and they’re having an even lovelier giveaway for a bundle of scrummy Cloud 9 fabrics at the moment. Click here for more details.

I don’t think I need to tell people here how much I love The Fabric Loft and The Sewing Directory, so you can imagine how cool I think they are together! The pile of goodies they’ve put together is wonderful, and I can’t tell you how much I want those books. Click here for more details.

Oh, and if you want to get news of lovely things coming up, don’t forget to follow Very Berry Handmade – it’s where I get all my news from, so you’ll hear it there first!

2 thoughts on “Start the Week: Busy Doing Nothing

  1. Thanks for your comments on my blog, Laura. I love this lunch bag – the fabric is great and the pattern I will go and have a look at when I finally get a faster internet connection – ditto your sewing circle page as I want to see your bucket bag too!!

    Like

    1. Hi Fiona šŸ™‚

      I love All People Quilt. The patterns are easy to use, and the directions are well-designed as well which makes such a difference.

      I’m loving My Sewing Circle, since I have so much going at once, it’s the best way to keep track. I really should take a picture of the finished bag to put up there!

      Thanks šŸ˜€

      Like

Leave a Reply

