WIP Wednesday – The Fail Skirt

Isn’t it funny how blog posts cluster? Amy over at No More Disco was asking about this kind of project yesterday. You know the one, where you drool over the pattern, have great fun planning and plotting then when it comes to actually doing it? The fizz goes away and somehow you have to struggle to work at it now. You want to have done it, rather than actually do it.

Meet the Fail Skirt.

I love this pattern. It’s Anna Maria Horner’s Study Hall Skirt (link to Backstitch) and it’s perfect for me. I’ve chosen a fabulous denim from Darn it and Stitch and the Cafe Mocha fabric from The Fabric Loft that I utterly adore. I was even looking forward to inserting an invisible zipper, which I learned to do in my dressmaking course last year but haven’t attempted since. All this good stuff.

And yet.

I cut the pieces some time in November and they’ve been languishing ever since. Somewhere along the line, I lost confidence. In the size I cut, in the fabric (did I pre-wash? If I didn’t, can I go on?), in my ability (so many pieces!). And with my confidence went my enthusiasm. So this poor thing has been on my ‘WIP’ pile for 3 months now. I’m taking it with me to a friend’s this afternoon and I’m hoping she’ll help me pin it together, check the fit and generally enthuse me about it again. Because it’s going to look awesome when it’s done, and I already know what fabric I want to use for my next one. Look: Isn’t it pretty? (Link to Backstitch again, it’s a Joel Dewberry print). But I need to get this one done first, and I’m going to be enthusiastic about it, dammit.

In happier news, and following on from the fabulous swap that I posted about last week, Very Berry are hosting an equally fabulous competition, with a prize donated by Simply Solids. Check these babies out:

Yes, that’s right, get your hands on 11 FQs from Anna Griffin’s Carmen collection. I’m a little bit in love with that pink one. Click the picture to go through to the Very Berry Blog and see how to enter. Just try not to drool on your keyboard too much.

5 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday – The Fail Skirt

  1. That does look like a very pretty skirt, I might try it someday…if I ever get serious about this sewing stuff that is, better stick to simple projects first 😉

    Like

    1. It’s a really, really lovely skirt. I pinned it together yesterday and fell in love with it, even with the kick pleats. It is proving rather confusing though, because there are 11 panels, not including the facings and trim, and I’m having to label everything as I go along. Still, pinning is progress!

      Like

  2. Hi, am your fabric swap partner, Aliza, have just heard today that our house move is scheduled for the 28th, so will try and get this into the post to you this week or early next week. Looking forward to this swap.
    cheers
    aliza
    PS enjoyed reading the blog

    Like

    1. Hi there 🙂 I’m looking forward to it too! I think you have my work address – I’ll be here for at least the next month, so that all sounds like a plan 🙂

      Awesome!

      Like

Leave a Reply

