Blog tour: M is for Make

I’ve fallen terribly behind with this, but catching up on my GReader after the weekend has definitely helped to re-inspire me. Although my current crafting budget has been severely curtailed by necessary car repairs (new exhaust vs more fabric is a tough decision, I tell you), I still want to point out some of the shops that inspire me and are in my “when I have the right project” folder.


[click the banner to go to the shop!]

M is for Make is a lovely fabric and sewing shop, with a blog alongside it. One of the things I like the most about online fabric shopping is hearing from the people behind the products. Knowing a little about them, their lives and what they do for crafting makes me feel part of a bigger crafting world, somehow. I’m not just buying from a soul-less corporation, I’m buying from people who are passionate about what they do, and their business has come out of their passion. Yes, I’m jealous of that, but I’m also delighted that the business side of the craft world (and where would we shop without it?) is being run by people who understand their customers properly. The M is for Make blog posts are inspiring, not just showing things that are for sale in the shop, but also what Kate has been making, and a little about her life. I love it, and not just because I’m nosey.

Well.

Sort of mostly not just because I’m nosey.

Mostly. It’s just that I like buying from people more than I like buying from shops, and the more time I spend making things for myself, the more I want to feel that I’m connected to the person selling something they’ve made. Even if they’re selling something to me so I can make something, I want to feel that they’re Good People, you know? It’s a thing, and it’s a thing that makes me love the internet, for putting me in touch with the personalities behind the pretties.

Not that they don’t have pretty personalities too.

Okay. Shutting up now.

Leave a Reply

