Much chicken, mostly headless

When building a craft stash, I think there’s a certain critical mass to be reached, the point at which you feel ready to stop collecting and start making, because you have all the pieces you need to really play, not just make specific things. Unfortunately, I think I reached that critical mass a while back, and I’ve been somewhat crushed underneath it for a while!

There’s just so much I want to make, so many other things I want to do with my free time, and so much stuff to do at work, that mostly what I do is flap and say I don’t know what to do. Anyone else get like that?

Since my previous WIP post worked pretty well for focussing my mind, I’m going to take some pictures tonight and make another one tomorrow. I also have some shiny things to show you, so once I’m reunited with the camera, I’ll do some snapping and update everybody.

Before I do that though, I have some lovely pictures of the baby blanket I made for a friend who’s due sometime this month. Her husband is a professional photographer and kindly took these for me. It’s a good job they’re in their own post, as I think my own pictures would be too embarrassed to show up alongside these!

Colourful ripple baby blanket

Close up of stitches on colourful rippled blanket

Close up of blanket edging

The pattern is the neat ripple pattern from Lucy at Attic 24, and the yarn is Cygnet Merino DK, bought at my local charity shop! The length was originally supposed to be the width, but after my first set of stripes, I realised I’d got carried away, so turned it on its end instead! The shell came from The Crochet Stitch Bible, a book I really wish was cheaper in the UK, because it’s an absolute treasure-trove. I love the colours in this, and since they don’t know whether the baby is a boy or a girl, hopefully it’s gender-neutral too!

2 thoughts on “Much chicken, mostly headless

  1. Critical mass? Pshaw! I don’t believe there’s any such thing – stash expands to fill the space available, and then you just have to resort to keeping bits of it at work or buying a bigger house or something!

    Gorgeous blanket, though.

    Like

    1. Heh, I meant critical mass in the *opposite* direction – until my stash reaches a certain level, I actually find it quite hard to get going, because I don’t feel like I’ve got all the materials I need 🙂 But right now, I’m just a bit overwhelmed by it all, and either need to start about 8 new projects that I can pick and choose from as I want, or get on and damn well finish the ones that I’ve started. It feels like awkward limbo at the moment, and I’m not quite sure what to do with myself!

      Thank you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

