Blunt, pointy object

I’m one of those people who absolutely crawls out of their skin at the sound of fingernails down a blackboard or squeegies on glass. So crocheting with a yarn that squeaked its way along my hook was not an ideal situation. Since the hook in question was one of my shiny alumnium ones, I’m thinking I’ll need to go back to a plastic one for this yarn in future.

Still, the results were worth it.


Pattern on Ravelry

The dodecahedron is made point by point, joining as you, so there’s no sewing at the end. Once 11 of the points are on, you stuff it, then keep on stuffing as you add the final point. I had a few problems with the pattern, since I’m something of a free-form crocheter normally, and counting is something that happens to other people. Also, the instructions aren’t entirely clear about how to join in the last 5 points, so I ended up with a bit of a problem there. I was able to improvise around it, but it looks a little less than symmetrical, that’s why.

There’s a squeaker in there somewhere, and combined with the points, I think it makes quite a fun toy.

Leave a Reply

