Comfort Eating: Librarian’s edition

For all kinds of reasons, this week has felt like very hard work, and on Tuesday night after work, what I really, really wanted was a huge coffee and a chocolate croissant. The only problem was that I try not to drink coffee (even decaf) after about 4pm and I avoid gluten as much as possible as well. What I really wanted, of course, was something comforting. Something reassuring and familiar and warm to bury myself in.

So I did what all good librarians do in my position: I went to the library.

Pile of books

It’s possible that I may have got a bit carried away. This tends to happen when I visit the library in that sort of state of mind. Books! Free books! What’s not to like? Sometimes in this sort of mood, I end up with a lot of things that I feel I ‘ought’ to read, and I end up returning them unread. Often they’re unread and late, at which point my ‘free’ books become a bit more expensive (I can’t be the only librarian who constantly owes library fines, can I?)

This time, I chose things specifically for their comfort value. Old friends of titles and authors that made me happy even as they made my shoulder hurt. I can’t wait for someone to invent lightweight paper!

Herring seller's apprentice

This is the title I chose to kick off with (propped up against the sort of weightier tomes that I’m more used to dealing with!) It’s a light-hearted romp of a detective story, very knowing, well-written and incredibly easy to read. And the best thing is, there are at least 4 more in the series!

Definitely cheaper and better for me than a visit to my favourite cafe. Anyone else have a favourite comfort-read?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Comfort Eating: Librarian’s edition

  1. I quite often take books back late! I have a feeling librarians might be more blasé about fines.

    Good selection of books :) Graveyard Book is good, but leaves a lot of the story to the imagination. I wish it were twice as long.

    • Laura says:

      I think librarians are definitely less worried – we know the worst that can happen!

      I’ve done very little reading in the last couple of years, so deliberately went for the ‘easy to digest’ options :) It’s ages since I read any Gaiman at all, so starting simple seemed the way to go!

  2. knotrune says:

    It looks like we have some old friends in common :) and some potential new friends for me to check out. I too am going through a difficult time and have resorted to a comfort read, Eddings. Perfect escapism, relaxing because I know the characters and the story well enough to not get anxious over what is going to happen next. I re-read the Belgariad over 20 years when my Grampa was dying in hospital, this time I am re-reading the Malloreon. Is there anything more comforting than curling up in bed with a friendly book, a hot drink and cat cuddle? I don’t think so :)

    • Laura says:

      I recommend the Lyle for pure escapism. It’s very silly but a lot of fun.

      Gosh, yes, I’d forgotten Eddings! I read the Belgariad and the Malloreon many years ago. There’s nothing better than escaping somewhere else when the real world is getting a bit much.

  3. Susan says:

    More of a listen, and something I tend to do during the summer when I’m working, and that’s get all the Harry Potter books spoken by Stephen Fry on the i pod and enjoy.

  4. Roobeedoo says:

    Ah yes indeed – I have a similar height of heap on my windowsill… and only two of them are overdue… oops!

  5. Christine says:

    There are three Philippa Gregorys I didn’t know about! Thanks my friend!

  6. 1107nikki says:

    Definitely librarians are the worst for returning books on time. It’s fine (ha ha!) when you work in the library and can override things, but when you don’t I think we’re the worst for fines. We also know all the excuses too :-)

Leave a Reply

