FO Friday: Epic All Shawl

I’ve got quite a little queue of things that I’ve managed to finish lately, but being out of the habit of blogging, I’m rather behind with my photo-taking. Fortunately for me, the sun is out today and I managed to get a few nice shots.

P1030775

This is the third All Shawl (#1 is here, I didn’t get pics of #2) that I’ve made, and I love it just as much as the others. It’s a brilliant, easy pattern, infinitely adaptable and works in any gauge and any yarn. Be warned if you decide to print it, though, that the instructions make a small book, because Doris gives you lots and lots of advice on how to make it *yours*. It’s a great project for beginner crocheters who want to try something different, rather than simply following a pattern, but with the safety net of clear instructions to fall back on. You can choose your permutations of yarn, hook, body and edging to make exactly the sort of thing you want.

P1030778

I made this one in a few days over Christmas. The yarn is an aran by The Knitting Goddess in a really beautiful mottled black and purple. It’s soft and springy, and with a 9mm hook, this shawl worked up in no time at all. I didn’t worry about blocking it, because it’s big enough as it is, and the yarn hangs really nicely. It’s grown about an inch just since I finished it, and I’m sure it will keep going for a while yet. Overall, I used about 4 skeins of the wool, which is almost 800m (Rav project page here) and is just right to keep me warm.

Wearing shawl

For all that I loved just making it, I did have one purpose in mind:

P1030785

My office got absolutely freezing cold this winter, and while it would have been lovely to just wrap myself in a quilt for three months, that’s not exactly practical. But wrapping myself in thick, warm wool? Much better. It lives on the back of my chair, so I can throw it on if I need to pop across college, but it’s too cold to go without a coat. Perfect!

There’s no linky post up as I’m writing this, but I’ll join in at Tami’s once it’s there!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to FO Friday: Epic All Shawl

    • Laura says:

      Thanks – I’m so pleased with it. It’s one of those pieces that becomes essential as soon as you bind it off. Which is probably why I haven’t sewn in those ends…

  1. Love the colour! It looks perfect to drape over your shoulders!

Leave a Reply

