FO Friday: Bonanza Edition

Thanks for the reassurance on Wednesday, folks. It’s nice to know I’m not the only one with a short crafting attention span :)

The next week or so is going to be pretty busy with family visits and last minute “I thought you wrapped that already” and “um, whose present is this?” discussions, so I thought this was a good chance to catch up on the last few finished objects of the year that I haven’t talked about yet.

First up is the scarf I made the other weekend. I have to tell you, bulky yarn and a 10mm hook is an immensely satisfying way to go about crocheting! In fact, just winding the balls was kind of fun, and they looked like Christmas ornaments, all lined up on the side.

20131208_112720

The pattern is a free one by Lion Brand, although I altered it a little so that the finished scarf would be wider. I’d recommend it to anyone without much crochet experience, but who wants to do more than just a double-crochet square. Normally, I don’t pay much attention to fashion, but I’ve noticed huge wooly scarves everywhere this winter, and decided for once that I would jump on the bandwagon

20131209_182602

I used 4 balls of the bulky yarn in the end (it’s an Amy Butler for Rowan one that’s now discontinued), just in time for the weather to turn mild, of course. Still, I’m thinking of packing it for our Christmas trips, as something to curl up in at the end of the day. When our flat is cold (which is always is, since we only have storage heaters, which are useless), I just go to bed and put the electric blanket on. Somehow I think that might be considered anti-social when visiting family! Hopefully the scarf will be a good substitute to keep off the chill.

You’ve already seen my hats and gloves that I made recently, but I don’t think I’ve shown you this shawl that I wear all the time:

20131220_084214

I love this pattern so much that I’m currently making another in black sparkle lace, because while the orange is awesome, it’s also a tricky colour to wear, unless I’m dressed all in black! I’m hoping the black version will be a bit more flexible. The pattern is really awesome, I have to say. It’s called Verdant, and is a simple four-row repeat that blossoms out into a lovely shawl with an usual, but very wearable, shape.

20131220_084312
(this is a truer version of the colour, but I couldn’t adjust the other one without making the bushes look very strange indeed!)

Besides the crochet, I made the effort while we were on holiday to finally finish off a couple of quilts I started earlier in the year. First up is this lovely giant star:

20130916_143914
(picture taken in the AMAZING converted chapel that we stayed in on holiday)

Isn’t it gorgeous? The pattern is free online, and I made it entirely from voile, top and backing, so it’s lovely and soft and buttery. The size is perfect for curling up on the sofa, or adding over the top of the duvet when it’s a bit chilly. It did remind me, however, just how much I dislike hand-sewing binding on, and I’ve resolved to try machine sewing it next time!

Last, but definitely not least, is my Type Dash quilt:

20131220_084444

This one is much smaller, and more of a ‘put over your knees while crocheting’ sort of thing. The pattern is a free one (found here) by Katy at Monkey Do, which I adapted by making each moustache different. The fabric is Curious Nature by Parson Gray, backed with more voile, and it makes me smile every time I get it out of the cupboard. Or from under my desk, where it’s living today!

20131220_084402

It’s been a funny old year for crafting, what with one thing and another, but I’m actually quite pleased with what I’ve got done, at least in the second half of the year. It’s certainly taught me a lot about what I do and don’t like making, which hopefully I’ll take notice of when planning what I want to make next year!

I’ll link up to Tami’s as normal once the post goes up, but if I don’t hit ‘publish’ now, I just know I’m going to forget…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to FO Friday: Bonanza Edition

  1. Frost this morning, so still chance to wear the scarves!

Leave a Reply

